Adaptations

The Centre for Adaptations at De Montfort University has been at the forefront of the development of Adaptation Studies as a field of interdisciplinary research on an international scale. It brings together DMU academics from Drama, English, History, Film Studies and New Media. 

Adaptations at De Montfort University hosts the journal Adaptation (Oxford University Press) and the book series Screen Adaptations (Methuen and Norton), and was the founding home of the Association of Adaptation Studies with colleagues in the US, Australia and Europe. The first of the Association’s annual conferences was hosted here in Leicester in 2006, followed by international conferences in Atlanta, Amsterdam, Berlin, Istanbul, London and Oxford. The Centre’s own seminars and conferences held at De Montfort University have ranged from From Theatre to Film – And Back Again! (2014) to Andrew Davies: The Screenwriter as Adapter (2016). Andrew Davies, the Centre’s Honorary Professor, donated his extensive archive to the Centre in 2015, providing one of several opportunities to undertake doctoral research drawing on De Montfort University’s archive collections. 

The Centre for Adaptations at De Montfort University invites applications to the Midlands 4 Cities Doctoral Training Partnership. Members of the Centre for Adaptations and their research interests are listed below. 

Professor Deborah Cartmell – djc@dmu.ac.uk

Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research), Professor of English, Director of the Centre for Adaptations

Shakespeare, adaptation theory, film adaptation in the era of sound, the author on film

Dr Anna Blackwell – anna.blackwell@dmu.ac.uk

Shakespeare, adaptation studies, digital Shakespeare, early modern drama, performance studies, Shakespearean actors 

Dr Philip Cox – ptcox@dmu.ac.uk

Stage adaptation, genre classification and adaptation, Romanticism 

Professor Ian Hunter – iqhunter@dmu.ac.uk

Professor of Film

Trash cinema, ‘bad adaptations’ 

Professor Siobhan Keenan – skeenan@dmu.ac.uk

Professor of Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature

Shakespeare and adaptation 

Dr Bethany Layne – bethany.layne@dmu.ac.uk

Biofiction, adaptation, appropriation, Henry James, Virginia Woolf, Sylvia Plath 

Professor Claire Monk – cmonk@dmu.ac.uk

Professor of Film & Film Culture

Heritage cinema and adaptation, fanworks as adaptation, production studies, E. M. Forster, Merchant Ivory Productions, adaptations and critical reception 

Professor Kenneth Morrison – kmorrison@dmu.ac.uk

Adaptation, politics and history

Dr Deborah Mutch – DMutch@dmu.ac.uk

Gothic adaptation 

Dr Elinor Parsons – eparsons@dmu.ac.uk

Shakespeare and film 

Laraine Porter – lporter@dmu.ac.uk

Reader in Cinema History

Silent cinema 

Dr James Russell – jrussell@dmu.ac.uk

Hollywood and adaptation 

Dr Hila Shachar – hila.shachar@dmu.ac.uk

Adaptation of literary works across multiple media, the literary biopic and authors on screen 

Dr Jamie Sherry – jamie.sherry@dmu.ac.uk

Reader in English

Screenwriting, creative industries, the professional and industrial roles of adaptors, screenwriters, authors and publishers 

Click here for the application page.

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.