Design and New Product Development

Design and New Product Development is a multidisciplinary research area. Situated within De Montfort University’s Institute of Art and Design, its work embraces Product, Furniture and Interior Design; Fashion, Contour Fashion and Footwear; Design Crafts; and Social Dimensions of Design. The researchers in this area at De Montfort University invites applications to the Midlands4Cities Doctoral Training Partnership. Members of the Centre and their research interests are listed below.  

The Design Unit

Professor Guy Bingham – guy.bingham@dmu.ac.uk

Director of The Design Unit at DMU 

Design, Digital Design, Design Practice, Engineering Design, Manufacturing, CAD, 3D printing 

Product Design

Dr Robert Chen – rchen1@dmu.ac.uk

Industrial design, orthopaedic footwear technology 

Dr Lionel Dean – ldean@dmu.ac.uk

Additive manufacture in design research, co-creation, computational design, digital craft, direct digital manufacturing, generative design, rapid prototyping and manufacture 

Grahame Hudson – GHudson@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests and expertise include design management, design thinking, design innovation, design leadership, digital design, new product development, creativity and innovation management. 

Dr Kyungeun Sung – Kyungeun.sung@dmu.ac.uk

VC2020 Lecturer in Product Design

Upcycling, sustainable design and production, sustainable behaviour, consumption and lifestyles, circular economy, systems thinking and innovation, product-service systems and service innovation, sustainable businesses. 

Stuart Lawson – smlawson@dmu.ac.uk

Associate Professor, Associate Head of School of Design

Materials and manufacturing processes and innovation for furniture design, furniture design history, materials and manufacturing history, design pedagogy, research methodologies for product and furniture design  

Craft (glass, metalwork, ceramics, computational design)

Rajesh Gogna – rajesh.gogna@dmu.ac.uk

Silver, design crafts, Challenging Material Perception and Material Value, Function and context of traditional Silver objects, Identity Theory 

Imogen Aust – imogen.aust@dmu.ac.uk

Design Craft pedagogy, craft’s values to society, health and well being 

Interior Design

Nicola Harding – nicola.harding@dmu.ac.uk

Museum and exhibition design, The narrative space, Collaboration on live projects linked with industry 

Alex Stothard – alex.stothard@dmu.ac.uk

Design thinking, retail design, learning app design 

To make an application click here.

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.