Drama, Theatre and Performance Research

The Drama Research Group, based within De Montfort University’s Institute of Dance, Drama and Performance Studies, brings together researchers from across the Drama and Performing Art teams, with a strong emphasis on developing the next generation of researchers. Our research encompasses Scholarly, practice-based and impact-focused investigations across live art, contemporary performance and theatre, interdisciplinary performance, applied performance, and theatre history. These investigations are further fuelled by international collaboration and interaction, social engagement and industry connections. 

The Drama Research Group at De Montfort University invites applications to the Midlands 4 Cities Doctoral Training Partnership. Members of the group and their research interests are listed below. 

Professor Siobhan Keenan – skeenan@dmu.ac.uk

Professor of Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature, Deputy Director of the Institute of Dance, Drama and Performance Studies

Shakespeare and Early Modern drama, theatre history 

Dr Alissa Clarke – a.clarke@dmu.ac.uk
Associate Professor in Drama

Feminist and gender theory and performance practice, contemporary performance practice, psychophysical performance and performer training, the performer’s body, documentation of performance, performance on screen, classical Hollywood cinema, women and the counterculture

Dr Louise Peacock – louise.peacock@dmu.ac.uk

Associate Professor in Drama

Clowning, commedia dell’arte, stand-up comedy, popular performance, radio comedy 

Dr Lyndsey Bakewell – lyndsey.bakewell@dmu.ac.uk

Applied theatre and storytelling, theatre for social change, social justice and mental health, verbatim theatre, digital theatre, Restoration stage practice, comedy and humour in Early Modern theatre 

Kate Chapman – kate.chapman@dmu.ac.uk

Contemporary theatre writing, contemporary radio drama, applied theatre, directing 

Dr Mark Crossley – mcrossley@dmu.ac.uk

Associate Professor International (HPA)

Contemporary British performance, intermedial performance, site-specific performance, physical theatre, devised performance 

Dr Harriet Curtis – harriet.curtis@dmu.ac.uk

Performance art, live art, and visual culture (US and UK post-1960), interdisciplinary art and performance practices, performance documentation and archives, feminist and activist performance practices, the body in performance 

Dr Kelly Jordan – kjordan@dmu.ac.uk

Live Art, Performance Art, Immersive Theatre, Interactive and Participatory Practices  and Contemporary Performance Practices

Dr Elinor Parsons – eparsons@dmu.ac.uk
Renaissance drama in performance; musical and danced adaptations of Shakespeare, contemporary text-based drama, screen adaptations of contemporary plays, space and place within performance

Dr Allan Taylor – allan.taylor@dmu.ac.uk

Media and performance, photography and performance, social media and performance, queer performativity, queerness in visual culture, drag, performativity and new media, mediatisation and liveness, media and performance practice-as-research

Click here if you would like more information on the Institute of Dance, Drama and Performance Studies and its research. Click here for the application page. 
 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.