Architecture

The Institute of Architecture is actively engaged in community and practice based research that is of interest to a wide audience of beneficiaries in the academic and non-academic communities. The research work ranges from understanding the processes through which the making of the built environment constitutes and consolidates our cultural understanding, to the use of computation in design. 

The Institutes's members actively research across the following spectrum of architectural disciplines: Low impact built environment; Housing and dwelling; Cities and urbanism; and Architectural geometry and fabrication.

The Institute of Architecture at De Montfort University invites applications to the Midlands4Cities Doctoral Training Partnership. Members of the Institute and their research interests are listed below:

Professor Ahmad Taki – ahtaki@dmu.ac.uk
Professor of Building Performance and Sustainability
Director of the Institute of Architecture
Low impact built environment, research methodologies, low energy systems

Simon Bradbury – simon.bradbury@dmu.ac.uk
Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean, Faculty of Arts, Design and Humanities 
Sustainable buildings, design performance, urban design, policy

Dr Yuri Abdul Hadi – yuri.abdulhadi@dmu.ac.uk
Architecture design, research in urban design, tall buildings

Dr Amal Abuzeinab – amal.abuzeinab@dmu.ac.uk
Green business models for the built environment, passive/low energy design, sustainability in architectural education, social housing

Dr Jamileh Manoochehri – JManoochehri@dmu.ac.uk
Housing design for sustainable communities

Dr Alona Martinez Perez – alona.martinezperez@dmu.ac.uk
Historical urban plans and the periphery

Dr Yasser Megahed – yasser.megahed@dmu.ac.uk
Architectural practice, speculative architecture

Dr Beniamino Polimeni – beniamino.polimeni@dmu.ac.uk
Vernacular built heritage, architectural history, Mediterranean and North Africa

Dr Tania Sharmin – tania.sharmin@dmu.ac.uk
Architecture design and technology, climate-responsive building and urban design, building energy performance and thermal modelling

Dr Theo Shittu – theo.shittu@dmu.ac.uk
Construction, utilities and infrastructure, social exclusion

Dr Luis Zapata Montalvo ­– luis.zapatamontalvo@dmu.ac.uk
Traditional and vernacular architecture and heritage conservation, sustainable design and construction, disaster resilience, popular culture in architecture

Click here for futher information about the Institute of Architecture or here to apply.

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.