Media Discourse

The Media Discourse Centre (MDC) at De Montfort University is devoted to the critical analysis of the contemporary social order. The Centre is renowned for its strong focus on the global dimension of public events, culture and politics, and its established postgraduate community has attracted PhD researchers from Brazil, Iraq, Kuwait, Nigeria, Lebanon, and China. The Centre’s researchers are engaged in a wide variety of projects. Current specialisms and interests include the Catalan independence crisis, protest movements, cultures of surveillance and the ‘deep’ state, the rise of the far right, resistance to austerity in Southern Europe, race and the postcolonial, investigative journalism, the study of China’s nation branding and the analysis of electronic dance music. 

The Media Discourse Group at De Montfort University invites applications to the Midlands 4 Cities Doctoral Training Partnership. Contacts for the Centre and their research interests are listed below. 

Professor Stuart Price – sprice@dmu.ac.uk

Professor of Media and Political Discourse, Director of the Media Discourse Centre
Critical security studies, critical discourse analysis, political communication, theories of the ‘event’,

conceptualisations of public order, the ‘war on terror’, memory, war and narrative 

Dr Jenifer Chao – jenifer.chao2@dmu.ac.uk

Politics & aesthetics, cultural resistance, nation branding, Chinese nationalism and national identity, visual culture: photography and photojournalism, cultural and critical theory, Jacques Rancière, Alain Badiou, 9/11 and the ‘war on terror’ 

Dr Marco Checchi – marco.checchi@dmu.ac.uk

Social and political philosophy, political economy 

Dr Richard Danbury – richard.danbury@dmu.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Investigative Journalism

International, domestic and comparative information law and media law; comparative freedom of expression law; copyright and news
Practical investigative journalism, broadcast journalism, political journalism, interviews. 

Dr Nayia Kamenou – nayia.kamenou@dmu.ac.uk

Nationhood, ethnic identities, gender and sexuality; Europeanization and LGBTIQ rights and political mobilization; women, gender and political agency in the radical right; women, gender and peacebuilding; representations of gender and sexual identities in cinema; trans* law, policies and activism 

Professor Jason Lee – jason.lee@dmu.ac.uk

Leicester Media School Head of Partnerships

‘Otherness’ in all its forms, across the humanities, film and media, social sciences and creative arts 

David Penman – dpenman@dmu.ac.uk

Press reporting of the First World War, regional press, the digital evolution and democracy 

Dr Paul SmithPASmith@dmu.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Media and Communication

Global sports media rights, media policy/regulation and the contemporary media industries, public service broadcasting, media ownership 

Dr Giuliana Tiripelli – giuliana.tiripellI@dmu.ac.uk

The role of the media in social change processes with regards to news media, digital media, normative models of journalism and strategic communication 

Dr Allan Taylor – allan.taylor@dmu.ac.uk

Media and performance, photography and performance, social media and performance, queer performativity, queerness in visual culture, drag, performativity and new media, mediatisation and liveness, media and performance practice-as-research

Click here if you would like to make an application.

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.