Institute of Creative Technologies members

Tracy Harwood, Director of the Institute of Creative Technologies

De Montfort University
Queens Building, Room 3.05
The Gateway

T: +44 (0)116 255 1551 / +44 (0)116207 8028

Tracy is Professor of Digital Culture.

She has a management background and, prior to joining the IOCT as a founder member, was director of Postgraduate Management Studies within the university's Faculty of Business and Law.  She was awarded a HEA National Teacher Fellowship in 2004 for her development of the university's elearning and Innovation Centre strategies and programme.  She holds a PhD in negotiation behaviour and is director of the university’s Usability Lab. She is a specialist in mixed methods research and user experience design.

Her research crosses computer science, arts, design, health and marketing disciplines. Current projects relate to the application of emerging technologies to business and consumer contexts, including AI, machine cinema/virtual production, smart environments, VR, AR, haptic interfaces and user experience.  She has published in leading marketing and digital creativity journals, including Journal of  Services Management, Journal of Service Marketing, Journal of Consumer Behaviour, Leonardo, Digital  Creativity and Journal of Visual  Culture.  Her research has been funded by AHRC, EPSRC, Innovate UK and others.

She co-founded and directs the Arts Council England-funded Art AI Festival, a city-wide collaborative annual event that presents latest applications of creative AI and which is part of the British Science Festival Network. She is a co-host of an international podcast on machine-cinema (virtual production), And Now For Something Completely Machinima


Research and associate members of the IOCT are -

Craig Appleby, Technical Instructor, Performance & Media

Simon Atkinson, Associate Professor, Music Technology

Peter Batchelor, Senior Lecturer, Music Technology

Bret Battey, Professor of Contemporary Music

Helen Burbidge, Associate Professor, Fashion

Robert Chafer, Lecturer, Dance

Jenifer Chao, Associate Professor, Journalism

Ross Clement, Senior Lecturer, Media Production

Thom Corah, Senior Lecturer, Media Production

Tove Delanius, Lecturer, Applied Holography

Saria Digregorio, Senior Lecturer, Graphic Design

Zu Dominiak, Lecturer, Concept and Comic Art

Jonny Dutra, Senior Lecturer, Online Media Production

Jodie Hatcher, Technical Instructor, Performance Arts

Karen Hickinbotham, Senior Lecturer, Fashion Buying

David Hughes, Technical Instructor, Performance Arts

Teodora Kuzmanova, Senior Lecturer, Game Art

Leigh Landy, Professor of Contemporary Music (director, Music Technology and Innovation Research Centre)

Indrani Lahiri, Senior Lecturer in Public Relations

Robert Leary, Technical Instructor, Performance Arts

Simon Mills, Associate Professor, New Media

Haley Morris-Cafiero, Associate Professor, Visual Arts

Craig Mooney, Senior Lecturer, Game Art

Dan Morley, Associate Professor, Media Design

Diviesh Navekar, Technical Instructor, Media

Dave Paget, Senior Lecturer, Media Production

Daniela Romano, Professor of AI and Games (director, Institute of AI)

Jethro Shell, Senior Lecturer, Games Programming

Peter Shenton, Senior Lecturer, Dance

Thomas Thesen, Senior Lecturer, Animation

Dave Tunnicliffe, Technical Instructor, AV

Nanette Westberg-Brown, Senior Lecturer, Footwear Design

Thom Wilson, Lecturer, VFX/Virtual Environments

Kerryn Wise, Senior Lecturer, Performing Arts

Ray Yau, Technical Instructor, Performance Arts



Current IOCT PhD students are -

Ike Adelola

Stacie Bennett-Worth

Jason Boomer

Sean Carroll (Midlands 4 Cities funded scholarship, collaboration with Computer Arts Archive)

Robert Chafer

James Cull (Midlands 4 Cities funded scholarship)

Marie Hay

David Hughes

Andi Johnson (Midlands 4 Cities funded scholarship, collaboration with Fabric)

Khairul Kamsani

Teodora Kuzmanova

Romana Lakinger-Njari

Ny McClain

Joe Moran

Dan Morley

Shanique Thompson

Mike Uwins

Becca Vernon

Ruichao Wang

Lai Wei

Roy Weller

Kerryn Wise (Midlands 4 Cities funded scholarship)



IOCT visiting researchers -

Sean Clark, Interact Digital Arts / Computer Arts Archive

Dmitry Dubovitskiy, Electronic Engineering and Mechatronics

Ernest Edmonds, Emeritus Professor, Computational Arts

Becca Heathcote, Researcher

Duska Rosenberg, Emertus Professor, Informatics

Sophy Smith, Honorary Professor, Creative Technologies Practice

Anthony Woodward, Twin Planets