Skip to content

Leicester Institute for Pharmaceutical Innovation members

Dr Nicoleta Moisoi, Associate Professor in Pharmacology and Director of Leicester Institute for Pharmaceutical Innovation

T: +44 (0)116 207 8985
E: nicoleta.moisoi@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: neurodegeneration, pharmacology, mitochondria, stress signalling


Professor Zeeshan AhmadProfessor in Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery, Royal Society Industry Fellow

T: +44 (0)116 250 6455
E: zahmad@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Randolph Arroo, Professor of Phytochemistry

T: +44(0)116 250 6386
E:  rrjarroo@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: cardiovascular physiology and pathophysiology, stem cells and cardiac regeneration, vascular calcification, cell signalling


Professor Anwar Baydoun, Professor of Pharmacology, Associate Dean (Research and Innovation)

T: +44(0)116 250 6075
E: anwar.baydoun@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: cardiovascular physiology and pathophysiology, stem cells and cardiac regeneration, vascular calcification, cell signalling


Professor Antony D’EmanueleProfessor of Pharmaceutics, Head of Leicester School of Pharmacy

T: +44 (0)116 257 7074
E: antony.demanuele@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: dendrimers, nanomedicines, controlled and responsive drug delivery


Professor Larry Goodyer, Professor of Pharmacy Practice

T: +44 (0)116 250 6100
E: lgoodyer@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: travel medicine, medicines optimisation, pharmacy practice, mosquito repellents


Professor Martin Grootveld, Professor of Bioanalytical Chemistry and Chemical Pathology

T: +44 (0)116 250 6443
E: mgrootveld@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: bioanalytical chemistry, high-field biomedical NMR analysis, NMR-linked metabolomics, dietary lipid oxidation products and food toxicology


Professor Katherine HuddersmanProfessor of Enviromental Chemistry

T: +44 (0)116 257 7134
E: huddzeo1@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Mingzhong Li, Professor of Pharmaceutical Science

T: +44 (0)116 257 7132
E: mli@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: crystallisation science and engineering, pharmaceutical cocrystal design and manufacturing, molecular dynamics modelling, pharmaceutical process modelling and control


Professor Graham Sewell,  Professor in Pharmacy Practice

T: +44 (0)116 207 8289
E:  graham.sewell@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: dose-banding in cancer chemotheraphy, occupational exposure of healthcare staff to cytotoxic drugs


Professor Geoff SmithProfessor of Pharmaceutical Process Analytical Technology

T: +44 (0)116 250 6298
E: gsmith02@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: impedance/dielectric spectroscopy, freeze-drying, tablet characterization, powder flow


Professor Sangeeta Tanna, Professor of Pharmaceutical Analysis

T: +44 (0)116 207 8274
E: stanna@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: counterfeit medicines identification, clinical mass spectrometry, quantitative bioanalysis, LC-HRMS


Professor Joan Taylor, Professor of Pharmaceutics

T: +44 (0)116 250 6317
E: mjt@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Abu-Bakr Abu-Median, VC2020Lecturer in Biomedical Science

T: +44 (0)116 207 8009
E:  abu-bakr.abu-median@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: microbiome, infection, zoonosis, diagnostics


Dr Rosemary AdsleySenior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice

T: 0116 257 7867
E: rosemary.adsley@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: nanoparticles, pharmacy interventions, compliance


Dr Raymond Allan,  VC2020Senior Lecturer in Microbiology

T: 0116 250 6088
E: raymond.allan@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: respiratory pathogens, biofilm-associated infections, host-pathogens interactions, bacterial adaptive responses


Susan Allen, Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice

T: +44 (0)116 207 8772
E: sjallen@dmu.ac.uk


Dr David Armitage, Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Technologies

T: +44 (0)116 257 7721
E: darmitage@dmu.ac.uk 


Richard BrawnDPL/Senior Lecturer in Forensic Chemistry

T: +44 (0) 116 250 6198
E: rjbrawn@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: forensic analysis, trace evidence and GSR, DNA profiling, interdisciplinary research


Dr Paul Bremner, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 257 7922
E: pbremner@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Federico Brucoli, VC2020 Lecturer in Medicinal Chemistry

T: +44 116 257 7443
E: federico.brucoli@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: medicinal chemistry, chemical biology, antimicrobial resistance, cancer chemotherapy


Dr Jane Dixon, Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology

T: +44 (0)116 207 8117
E: jdixon@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: cell signalling, purinoceptors, hepatocyte regulation, pharmacology 


Dr Irina Ermolina, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7870
E: IErmolina@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: freeze-drying, hydrogels, protein aggregation, dielectric spectroscopy


Dr Kevin Farrugia, Senior Lecturer in Forensic Chemistry

T: +44 (0)116 366 4409
E: kevin.farrugia@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: fingermark enhancement and recovery, integrated approach to forensic evidence, ink analysis and classification, analysis of drugs of abuse, chemometric techniques


Dr Dan Fei, Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutics

T: +44 (0)116 257 7122
E: DFei@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Kim Fisher, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7897
E: Kmfisher@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Benjamin Gronier, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 207 8418
E: bgronier@dmu.ac.uk


Tim Harrison, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 250 6470
E: tharrison@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Neill HorleySenior Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 0116 207 8556
E: nhorley@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: cytochrome P450, drug metabolism, protein expression, molecular biology


Marilena Ioannou, Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Science

T: +44 (0)116 257 7677
E: mioannou@dmu.ac.uk


Emma JohnstonSenior Lecturer in Forensic Biology

T: +44 (0)116 207 8676
E: emma.johnston@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: forensic science, human identification, DNA profiling, humanitarian forensic action


Nilam Jussab, Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice

T: +44 (0)116 207 6588
E: nilam.jussab@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Neena Lakhani, Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice

T: +44 (0)116 207 8279
E: nlakhani@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: pharmacy practice, interprofessional education, public health, respiratory medicine


Dr Katie LairdReader in Microbiology

T: +44 (0)116 207 8106
E: klaird@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: antimicrobials, infection control and germ's Journey


Dr Lawson Graham, P/T Lecturer Forensic Analysis

T: +44 (0)116 257 7129
E: glawson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: forensic mass spectrometry and counterfeit medicine identification.


Dr Mounir MaafiSenior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7704
E: mmaafi@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: photokinetics, drug stability, photochromes, protein photostability


Dr Omar Mansour,  Lecturer in Cosmetic Science

T: +44 (0)116 366 4453
E:  omar.mansour@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Glen McCannSenior Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)116 2577968
E: GMcCann@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: heterologous recombinant protein expression especially drug metabolism enzymes 


Leisa Nichols-DrewSenior Lecturer in Forensic Science

T: +44 (0)116 207 8891
E: Leisa.Nichols-Drew@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Antonio Pena-FernandezVC2020 Senior Lecturer in Biomedical & Medical Science

T: +44 (0)116 201 3859
E: antonio.pena-fernandez@dmu.ac.uk 

Areas of expertise: toxicology, human biomonitoring, public health, parasitology


Dr Tarsem SahotaSenior Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)116 250 6972
E: ssahota@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: artificial pancreas, diabetes, insulin, drug delivery


Dr Shivanthi SamarasingheSenior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8870
E: ssamarasinghe@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Walkiria SchlindweinAssociate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 257 7124
E: wss@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Dan SillenceReader in Cell Biology

T: +44 (0)116 250 6368
E: dsillence@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: lysosome, lysosomal storage diseases, sphingolipid cell biology, neurodegenerative diseases, Niemann-Pick type C


Dr Neenu Singh, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6521
E: neenu.singh@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: nanotoxicology, DNA damage, oxidative stress, nanomaterials


Dr Maitreyi Shivkumar, Lecturer in Molecular Biology

T: +44 (0)116 366 4475
E: maitreyi.shivkumar@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: virology, drug discovery, host-pathogen interaction


Dr Laura Smith, Senior Lecturer in Microbiology

T: +44 (0)116 250 8244
E: laura.smith@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: transcriptional regulation, mechanism of action of antimicrobials


Dr Peter TaylorAssociate Professor in Pharmaceutics

T: +44 (0)116 250 6299
E: pmtaylor@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Nick Turner, Associate Professor in Analytical Chemistry

T: +44 116 257 8416
E: nicholas.turner@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: molecular imprinting, biosensors, polymer chemistry, trace analysis


Dr Omar QutachiVC2020 Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutics

T: +44 (0)116 250 6553
E: omar.qutachi@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Chris Young, VC2020 Lecturer in Biomedical Science

T: +44 (0)116 207 8166
E: chris.young@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: autophagy, ageing, cancer, muscle


Dr Tyra Zetterstrom, Reader in Neuropharmacology

T: +44 (0)116 250 6477
E: tscz@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: neurochemistry, psychopharmacology, antidepressant, psychostimulants


Dr Lan Zhu, VC2020 Senior Lecturer in Biomedical and Medical Science

T: +44 (0)116 2577375

E: lan.zhu@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: neuronal plasticity, ion channels, cerebellum, schizophrenia


Dr Susannah WalshAssociate Professor in Microbiology, Associate Head of Leicester School of Pharmacy

T: +44 (0)116 250 6307
E: swalsh@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: disinfection, sterilisation, resistance, infection


Dr Nicola Ward, Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice

T: +44 (0)116 257 7592
E: n.ward@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: health behaviour, student wellbeing, pharmacy practice, patient involvement


Dr Tania Webb, Associate Professor in Molecular Pharmacology

T: +44 (0)116 250 7136
E: tewebb@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: pharmacy education, assessment and feedback, technology enhanced learning, scenario-based learning


Dr Philippe B. Wilson, Associate Professor in Biological Chemistry & Cheminformatics

T: +44 (0)116 257 7631
E: philippe.wilson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: computational intelligence, translational medicine, metabolomics, medical devices


Dr Mohamed Elsawy, Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Sciences

T: +44 (0)116 366 4581
E: mohamed.elsawy@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Peptide self-assembly, Nanomedicine, Biomaterials, Hydrogels, Drug Delivery, Tissue Engineering, Peptide Medicinal Chemistry