Institute of Allied Health Sciences Research members

Dr Louise Dunford, Director, Institute of Allied Health Sciences

Areas of expertise: nutrition, obesity, weight management, hyperhidrosis

De Montfort University
Hawthorn Building, 2.25h
The Gateway
Leicester
LE1 9BH

T: +44 (0)116 250 6498
E: louise.dunford@dmu.ac.uk
Twitter: @dunfordlouise


Dr Neenu Singh, Institute Head of Postgraduate Students

T: +44 (0)116 250 6521
E:  neenu.singh@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Simon Dyson, Professor of Applied Sociology

T: +44 (0)116 257 7751
E: sdyson@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Parvez Haris, Professor of Biomedical Science

T: +44 (0)116 250 6306
E: pharis@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Water, nutrition, environment, health


Professor Richard Jenkins, Professor of Microbiology

T: +44 (0)116 257 7942
E: roj@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Bacteriology, biochemistry, toxicology, spectroscopy


Dr Stephen Handsley, Associate Professor in Sociology of Health

T: +44 (0)116 257 7883
E: shandsley@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Angela O’Sullivan, Associate Professor and Faculty Head of Widening Participation

T: +44 (0)116 207 8821
E: aosullivan@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Inclusivity, Widening Participation, Care-leavers, Connectivism


Dr Avninder Bhambra, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8792
E: abhambra@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Morag Bixley, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7814
E: mdbixley@dmu.ac.uk
Twitter: @dmbixley

Areas of expertise: aphasia, therapy outcomes,  pdmb©


Dr Adam Brown, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8809
E: abrown02@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Jeff Davies, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7842
E: jeff.davies@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Ruta Furmonaviciene, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7112
E: rfurmonaviciene@dmu.ac.uk 
Twitter: @rfurmo00

Areas of expertise: Immunology, allergy, diabetes, saliva


Dr Jessica Jin, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7471
E: jessica.jin@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Eva Maseiro, VC2020 Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7140
E: eva.maseiro@dmu.ac.uk


Lisa Morgan, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7715
E: lisa.morgan@dmu.ac.uk


Kathleen Nthakomwa-Cassidy, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8740
E: kathleen.nthakomwa-cassidy@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Antonio Pena-Fernandez, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 201 3859
E: antonio.pena-fernandez@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Zoe Redshaw, VC2020 Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7706
E: zoe.redshaw@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Jo Rushworth, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8955
E: jo.rushworth@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Shivanthi Samarasinghe, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8870
E: ssamarasinghe@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Lourdes Santos-Merx, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7157
E: lourdes.santos-merx@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: eating behaviour, food choice, food culture, weight management


Dr Tiziana Sgamma, VC2020 Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 201 3925
E: tiziana.sgamma@dmu.ac.uk 
Twitter: @tiziana_sgamma

Atreas of expertise: Herbal medicines, DNA barcoding, authentication, Industrial Quality Assurance


Dr Harprit Singh, VC2020 Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7779
E: harprit.singh@dmu.ac.uk
Twitter: @Dr_HSingh_DMU

Areas of expertise: vascular, metabolic health, cell signalling


Dr Moses Sokunbi, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6850
E: moses.sokunbi@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Umakhanth Venkatraman Girija, VC2020 Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7717
E: umakhanth.venkatramangirija@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Abu-Bakr Abu-Median, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8009
E: abu-bakr.abu-median@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: microbiome, infection, zoonosis, diagnostics


Dr Maria Berghs, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7910
E: maria.berghs@dmu.ac.uk 
Twitter: @MariaBerghs

Areas of expertise: Sickle Cell, disability, global health, ethics


Dr Mariasole da Boit, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8137
E: mariasole.daboit@dmu.ac.uk 
Twitter: @marysundb

Areas of expertise: exercise, nutrition, aging, cardiovascular health


Dr Christopher Elsey, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8812
E: christopher.elsey@dmu.ac.uk 
Twitter: @DrJoueurDeluxe

Areas of expertise: medical consultations, dementia, mental health, military conduct


Dr Mark Evans, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7888
E: mark.evans@dmu.ac.uk 
Twitter: @DrMdedmu

Areas of expertise: chemotherapy, cancer, oxidative stress, DNA repair


Dr Esmee Hanna, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7119
E: esmee.hanna@dmu.ac.uk
Twitter: @DrEsmee

Areas of expertise: gender, health, bodies, families


Dr Naomi Martin, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 201 3949
E: naomi.martin@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Immunology, microparticles, ethnicity, cancer


Dr Ines Martins Ramos, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 201 4336
E: ines.martinsramos@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Andy Northcott, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7973
E: andy.northcott@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: dementia, hospital organisation, ward culture, ethnography


Dr Nat Potiwat, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6531
E: nat.potiwat@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Michael Randles, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7973
E: Michael.randles@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Dawn Smallwood, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 257 7469
E: dawn.smallwood@dmu.ac.uk

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.