Academic regulations and recognition of prior learning

The taught programmes academic regulations outline how students can progress through their programme (course) and achieve their award, including how applicants and students can apply to have prior learning recognised. After the regulations have been applied to students’ assessments, these marks are processed through an assessment board prior to the results being released.

The academic regulations apply to all undergraduate and taught postgraduate students. Some programmes have additional requirements, called programme-specific regulations – there are also separate regulations for students following a level 3 programme.


  1. Current academic regulations

  2. Programme specific regulations

    Some programmes have additional requirements, called programme-specific regulations. These are normally in place to address requirements outlined by a Professional, Statutory and Regulatory Body (PSRB). The university has a small number of level 3 programmes delivered by partner institutions which also operate a separate set of academic regulations. Read or download these regulations below.

    Faculty programme-specific regulations

    Art, Design and Humanities

    For queries please contact Claire Orwin, Associate Dean (Academic) at or Caroline Smith, Associate Professor (Quality) at

    Business and Law

    For queries please contact Chris Goldsmith, Associate Dean (Academic) at, or Sarah Easton, Faculty Head of Quality, at

    Computing, Engineering and Media

    For queries please contact Zoe Allman, Associate Dean (Academic) at or Chris Fidler, Associate Professor (Quality) at

    Health and Life Sciences

    For queries please contact Nicola Brooks, Associate Dean (Academic) at or Emma Reith-Hall, Associate Professor (Quality) at

    Level 3/year zero regulations

    For queries about these level 3 programmes and their regulations please contact Educational Partnerships at

    For queries about the above regulations please contact your faculty's Associate Dean (Academic)

  3. Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

    RPL is a process which facilitates the recognition of an applicant’s or student’s prior learning, either experiential or credits gained at another institution, to grant them an exemption from studying one or more modules on their programme.

    Guidance and an application form can be found at the following links:

    Midlands Credit Compass

    Students wishing to transfer to or from universities which are members of the Midlands Credit Compass should make their application as outlined on the Midlands Credit Compass web page. For applications to De Montfort University please contact and put ‘Midlands Credit Compass’ in the subject line of your email.

    The Midlands Credit Compass universities are: Birmingham City, Coventry, De Montfort, Derby, Lincoln, Nottingham Trent and Wolverhampton.

    DMU students wishing to transfer to other institutions

    Students who do not achieve their intended award at DMU will be provided with a record of achievement which details the modules (credits) they have passed. This record will include the credit size and level of the modules. Former students wishing to return to DMU to attempt to gain an award should use the RPL process above; please contact the programme leader or faculty Student Advice Centre in the first instance.  Former DMU students seeking entry to another institution to continue their studies should request information from that institution about its student transfer/recognition of prior learning process; exemptions from study may be granted based on the modules already passed at DMU.

  4. Regulations archive

    Download archived regulations
    Academic year Generic regulations Programme specific regulations Digests, summaries and guidance
    2022/23 UG level 4 ONLY academic regulations 2022/23

    Continuing UG-PGT academic regulations 2022/23

    ADH level 4 regulations 2022/23

    ADH level 5, 6 and 7 regulations 2022/23

    BAL level 4 regulations 2022/23

    BAL level 5, 6 and 7 regulations 2022/23

    CEM level 4 regulations 2022/23

    CEM level 5, 6 and 7 regulations 2022/23

    HLS programme specific regulations 2022/23

    Continuing UG-PGT academic regulations digest 2022/23

    2021/22 Academic regulations 2021/22

    ADH programmes

    Business and Law programmes

    Graduate Diploma in Law

    Legal Practice Course

    CEM programmes HLS programmes

    Regulations digest 2021/22
    2020/21 Academic regulations 2020/21
    Safety-net regulations (Feb 2021) for Honours degrees
    Safety-net regulations (Feb 2021) for Integrated Masters
    ADH programmes
    BAL programmes
    BAL Legal Practice Certificate
    BAL Graduate Diploma Law
    CEM programmes
    HLS programmes
    Regulations digest 2020/21
    Uncapped reassessment scenarios – standard UG
    Uncapped reassessment scenarios – non-standard UG and PG
    2019/20 Academic regulations 2019/20
    Emergency regulations (including no detriment, May 2020)
      Regulations digest 2019/20
    2018/19 Academic regulations 2018/19 Level 3 education Regulations digest 2018/19
    2017/18 Academic regulations 2017/18 Level 3 education Regulations digest 2017/18
    2016/17 Undergraduate regulations 2016/17
    Taught postgraduate regulations 2016/17
      Regulations digest 2016/17
    2015/16 Undergraduate regulations 2015/16
    Taught postgraduate regulations 2015/16
      Regulations digest 2015/16