Skip to content

Institute of History members

Dr Carol Beardmore, Lecturer of History

T: +44(0)116 257 7060
E: carol.beardmore@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Sophie Brockmann, Senior Lecturer in History

T: +44 (0)116 207 8880
E: Sophie.brockmann@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Neil Carter, Senior Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)116 250 6278
E: necarter@dmu.ac.uk


Dr David Dee, Reader in Modern History

T: +44 (0)116 207 7398
E: ddee@dmu.ac.uk
W: dmu.academia.edu/DavidDee


Dr Heather Dichter, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 201 3907
E: heather.dichter@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Serena Dyer, Lecturer in History of Design and Material Culture and Institute Head of Research Students

T: +44 (0)116 2577415 E: serena.dyer@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Elizabeth Lambourn, Reader in South Asian and Indian Ocean Studies

T: +44 (0)116 255 1551
E: elambourn@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Kenneth Morrison, Professor of Modern Southeast European History and Deputy Director of the Institute of History

T: +44 (0)116 207 8385
E: kmorrison@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Panikos Panayi, Professor of European History

T: +44 (0)116 207 8681
E: ppanayi@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Kennetta Hammond Perry, Director of the Stephen Lawrence Research Centre

T: +44 (0)116 257 7182
E: kennetta.perry@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Beatriz Pichel, VC2020 Lecturer in Photographic History

T: +44 (0)116 250 6427
E: beatriz.pichel@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Martin Polley, Director, International Centre for Sports History and Culture; Professor of History

T: +44 (0)116 257 7662
E: martin.polley@dmu.ac.uk
W: martinpolley.co.uk


Professor Matthew Taylor, Professor of History and Director of the Institute of History

T: +44 (0)116 257 7399
E: mtaylor@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Elizabeth Tingle, Professor of History

T: +44 (0)116 250 8113
E: elizabeth.tingle@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Pippa Virdee, Reader in Modern South Asian History

T: +44 (0)116 207 8595
E: pvirdee@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Christopher Roy Zembe, Lecturer in History

T: +44 (0)116 207 8786
E: czembe@dmu.ac.uk