Skip to content

Institute of English members and how to contact us

Professor Gabriel Egan, Professor of Shakespeare Studies and Director of the Institute of English
T: +44 0116 257 7158
E: gegan@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Siobhan Keenan, Professor of Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature
T: +44 (0)116 207 8883
E: skeenan@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Joe Phelan, Professor of Nineteenth-Century Literature
T: +44 (0)116 207 8265
E: JPhelan@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Tim Fulford, Professor of English
T: +44 (0)116 250 6239
E: tfulford@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Deborah Cartmell, Professor in English
T: +44 (0)116 255 1551 extension 6685
E: djc@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Simon Perril, Programme Leader for Creative Writing 
T: +44 (0)116 207 8818
E: sperril@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Alice Wood, VC2020 Senior Lecturer in English
T: +44 (0)116 2577198
E: alice.wood@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Deborah Mutch, Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)116 257 8126
E: dmutch@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Takako Kato, Senior Lecturer in English and Digital Humanities
T: +44 (0)116 207 8265
E: tkato@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Alison Hall, VC2020 Lecturer in English Language
T: +44(0)116 255 1551 extension 7767
E: alison.hall@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Bethany Layne, Senior Lecturer in English Literature
T: +44 (0)116 255 1551
E: bethany.layne@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Anna Blackwell, VC2020 Lecturer
T: +44 (0)116 207 8997
E: anna.blackwell@dmu.ac.uk


Mr Rod Duncan, Lecturer in Creative Writing
T: +44 0(166) 257 7439
E: rod.duncan@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Anthony Joseph, Lecturer in Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)116 255 1551
E: anthony.joseph@dmu.ac.uk


Maria Taylor, Lecturer in Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)116 255 1551 
E: mdtaylor@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Jie Liu, Senior Lecturer in English Language Teaching
T: +44 (0)116 250 6419 
E: jie.liu@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Josie Barnard, Associate Professor in Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)116 255 1551
E: josie.barnard@dmu.ac.uk


Mrs Nicola Valentine, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)116 250 6177
E: nicola.valentine@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Aimee Bailey, Lecture in English Language
T: +44 (0)116 255 1551
E: aimee.bailey@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Joanne Dixon, Lecturer in Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)116 257 4773
E: joanne.dixon@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Marion Krauthaker Coombes, Senior Lecturer in Modern Languages
T: +44 (0)116 207 8806
E: marion.krauthaker@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Takako Kato
T: +44 (0)116 207 8265
E: tkato@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Manjeet Ridon, DMU Dubai Provost (Interim)
T: +44 (0)116 255 1551
E: manjeet.ridon@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Hila Shachar, Senior Lecturer in English Literature & Film
T: +44 (0)116 2577991
E: hila.shachar@dmu.ac.uk


 

 

Associate members

 

Dr Andrew Thompson, Partnerships Manager (Quality) in SAAS
T: 0116 255 1551
E: andrew.thompson@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Siobhan Logan, Lecturer in Creative Writing

T: +44 (0)116 255 1551
E: siobhan.logan@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Jiayi Wang, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 366 4565
E: jiayi.wang@dmu.ac.uk


 

PhD students

Abdulrazaq Alzahrani
Mohammad Sayyar
Ana Weinberg Magis
Zeandrick Aubion Oliver
Musaed Al-Mutairi
Sabrina Smith
Edward Burton
Cassandra Hunter
William Breden
Claire Morris
Andre Cowen
Peter Lewis
Julian Pinnick
Tarek Mahmoud
Tanya Flanagan
Mark Harrison
Charlene Lee
Caroline Butterwick
Joe Gardner
Justin Gilbert
Alice Payne
Lois Linkens
Jess Samuel
Megan Lupton
Francesca Sanders
Li Wang
Aunyapat Chaiyapinyowat
Lizhen Wei
Jennifer Wilkinson
Phillip Dobson
Rosie Georgiou

Contact the Institute of English

De Montfort University 
0.40 Clephan Building
The Gateway
Leicester
LE1 9BH

T: +44 (0)116 257 7158
E: gegan@dmu.ac.uk