Cyber Technology Institute members

Jump to group members

Jump to visiting professors


Professor Eerke Boiten, Director of Cyber Technology Institute, Interim Head of School of Computer Science and Informatics

Research interests: Data privacy and data ethics; Cyber security; Ransomware; Formal methods: application to cryptography and security; refinement; viewpoints

E: eerke.boiten@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Ali Al-Bayatti, Associate Professor in Cyber Security and Subject Group Leader for Cyber Security

Research interests: Intelligent mobility / Autonomous vehicles

E: alihmohd@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Aladdin Ayesh, Reader in Artificial Intelligence

Research interests: AI / Cognitive systems / Mobile systems / Text mining

E: aayesh@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Jo Barwick, Research and Commercial Development Manager

E: jo.barwick@dmu.ac.uk 


Professor Edward Cartwright, Professor of Economics, Leicester Castle Business School

E: edward.cartwright@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Feng Chen, Senior Lecturer / Co-ordinator of DTP in Cyber Technology

Research interests: Smart technologies / software evolution / adaptive software

E: fengchen@dmu.ac.uk


Professor Liming (Luke) Chen, Professor / Head of CIIRG

Research interests: SMART technologies / SMART homes

E: liming.chen@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Moira Carroll-Mayer, Senior Lecturer in Law and Ethics

Research interests: Digital forensics / security management / ethics and law of advanced weapons systems

E: moiracaroll2000@yahoo.co.uk


Mr John Files, Senior Technical Analyst

E: jhf@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Catherine Flick, Reader in Computing and Social Responsibility

E: cflick@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Vasileios Germanos, Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Formal methods, pi-Calculus, Petri nets, diagnosis, distributed and concurrent systems, information security, security policies, IoT, cloud computing, robotics

E: vasileios.germanos@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Ying He, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Security Incident Response / Security Risk Management / Information Governance

E: ying.he@dmu.ac.uk


Mr Clinton Ingrams, Senior Lecturer

Research interests: Security of web applications / Penetration testing

E: cfi@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Laleh Kasraian, Lecturer in Information Systems

Research interests: IS/IT Service Co-Production, Service Innovation and Service Design Methodologies

E: laleh.kasraian@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Sarmadullah Khan, Lecturer in Cyber Security and Programme Leader for MSc Cyber Technology, MSc Software Engineering, MSc Cyber Security, MSc Professional Practice in Digital Forensics and Security

Research interests: IoT security / Wireless sensor networks security / Content centric networks security / Key establishment and management

E: sarmadullah.khan@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Mehmet Kiraz, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Cryptographic Protocols, Privacy, Secure Multi-Party Computation, PKI, Certificate Transparency, Zero-Knowledge Protocols, Homomorphic Encryption, Threshold Cryptography, Pairing-Based Cryptography, Electronic Voting, Cloud Security, Blockchain, Cryptocurrencies, Multi-Party Threshold ECDSA and Crypto Wallets.

E: mehmet.kiraz@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Stefan Kuhn, Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Chemoinformatics / bioinformatics / algorithms / reversible computation

E: stefan.kuhn@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Dawei Liu, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Positioning and navigation systems / Wireless network security / Smartphone security / Spatial data structure,
software-defined radio

E: dawei.liu@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Francisco Aparicio Navarro, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Network Security / Anomaly Detection / Network Traffic Analysis / Computer Networks

E: fnavarro@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Leandros Maglaras, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Protection of Critical Infrastructures / Intrusion Detection Systems / Data Mining / SCADA security

E: leandros.maglaras@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Stuart O'Connor, Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Gamification/ Intelligent Agents / Perceptual Evaluation / Psychophysics / Serious Games / User-Centered / Virtual Environments.

E: stuart.oconnor@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Francois Siewe, Reader in Computer Science / Head of STRL

Research interests: Modelling of context aware and pervasive systems

E: fsiewe@dmu.ac.uk


Mr David Smallwood, Principal Lecturer

Research interests: Procedural and functional programming / Formal Methods

E: drs@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Richard Smith, Associate Professor / Head of Cyber Security Centre

Research interests: ICS security / Security of CNI

E: rgs@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Ismini Vasileiou, Associate Professor and Subject Leader in Information Systems

Research interests: Security Education / Information Systems / Big Data / Learning Analytics / Social Engineering / Flexible Learning

E: ismini.vasileiou@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Isabel Wagner, Senior Lecturer

Research interests: Privacy / Gender differences in Computer Science / Cryptography

E: isabel.wagner@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Nisansala Yatapanage, Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Formal methods, software verification, software specification, safety-critical systems, hazard analysis, concurrency, model checking, rely-guarantee reasoning

E: nisansala.yatapanage@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Iryna Yevseyeva, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research Interests: Optimisation / decision-analysis in cyber security / human aspects of cyber security

E: iryna.yevseyeva@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Suleiman Yerima, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Malware analysis and detection / Intrusion detection systems / Transparent authentication / Mobile security / IoT security

E: syerima@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Wen Zeng, Lecturer in Cyber Security

E: wen.zeng@dmu.ac.uk

Research interests: Cyber security (information security economics, digital rights management systems, information flow security, security metrics and standards); Petri net based behavioural models of complex systems

Visiting professors

Professor Thomas Brandstetter, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Managing Director of Limes Security / Professor of Computer Security at the University of Applied Sciences, St Poelten, Austria


Dr Allan Cook, Visiting Senior Research Fellow in Cyber Risk
Associate Director Cyber, Risk Advisory / Deloitte


Keith Cottenden, Honorary Visiting Professor in Digital Forensics
Head of Digital Forensics & Incident Response / 3B Data Security


Chris Hurran OBE, Honorary Visiting Lecturer in Cyber Security
Director of Cyber Security Challenge and Company Secretary


Professor Helge Janicke, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Research Director / Cyber Security Cooperative Research Centre, Australia


Professor Andy Jones, Honorary Visiting Professor in Digital Forensics
Director of the Cyber Security Centre / University of Hertfordshire


Dr Kevin Jones, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Head of Cyber Security Architecture, Innovation and Scouting / Airbus


Ian Mann, Honorary Visiting Lecturer in Cyber Security
Director of ECSC


Dr Robert Oates, Honorary Visiting Professor of Cyber Security and Safety
Global Software Development Lead / Rolls-Royce


Robert Partridge, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security Education
Head of Business Development, Red Team / BT


Colin Williams, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Director of SoftBox 

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.