Skip to content

Cyber Technology Institute members

Jump to group members

Jump to visiting professors

Professor Eerke Boiten, Director of Cyber Technology Institute / Head of School of Computer Science and Informatics

Research interests: Data protection, Privacy, GDPR, Privacy Impact Assessment, Cyber crime, Cyber intelligence sharing, Formal methods, Refinement

E: eerke.boiten@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Richard Smith, Associate Professor / Head of Cyber Security Centre / Deputy Director of Cyber Technology Institute / Associate Head of School (Enterprise)

Research interests: ICS security / Security of CNI

E: rgs@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Isabel Wagner, Associate Professor / Deputy Director of Cyber Technology Institute

Research interests: Privacy-enhancing technologies / Transparency / Corporate surveillance / Privacy metrics / Privacy in genomics / Social media / Vehicular networks / Smart grids / Smart cities

E: isabel.wagner@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Ali Al-Bayatti, Associate Professor in Cyber Security / Subject Group Leader for Cyber Security

Research interests: Intelligent mobility / Autonomous vehicles

E: alihmohd@dmu.ac.uk 


Professor Aladdin Ayesh, Professor of Artificial Intelligence

Research interests: AI / Cognitive systems / Mobile systems / Text mining

E: aayesh@dmu.ac.uk


Mr Yashwant Kumar Patel, Project Manager

Interests: Research and Commercial Development

E: yashwant.patel@dmu.ac.uk 


Professor Edward Cartwright, Professor of Economics, Leicester Castle Business School

E: edward.cartwright@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Feng Chen, Senior Lecturer / Co-ordinator of DTP in Cyber Technology

Research interests: Smart technologies / software evolution / adaptive software

E: fengchen@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Moira Carroll-Mayer, Senior Lecturer in Law and Ethics

Research interests: Digital forensics / security management / ethics and law of advanced weapons systems

E: moiracaroll2000@yahoo.co.uk


Dr George Onyango Okeyo, VC2020 Senior Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Data Analytics / Machine Learning / Internet of Things / Privacy and trust / Semantic Web / Climate Prediction

E: george.okeyo@dmu.ac.uk


Mr John Files, Senior Technical Analyst

E: jhf@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Catherine Flick, Reader in Computing and Social Responsibility

E: cflick@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Vasileios Germanos, Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Formal methods, pi-Calculus, Petri nets, diagnosis, distributed and concurrent systems, information security, security policies, IoT, cloud computing, robotics

E: vasileios.germanos@dmu.ac.uk


Mr Clinton Ingrams, Senior Lecturer

Research interests: Security of web applications / Penetration testing

E: cfi@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Laleh Kasraian, Lecturer in Information Systems

Research interests: IS/IT Service Co-Production / Service Innovation / Service Design Methodologies

E: laleh.kasraian@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Sarmadullah Khan, Lecturer in Cyber Security / Programme Leader for MSc Cyber Technology, MSc Software Engineering, MSc Cyber Security, MSc Professional Practice in Digital Forensics and Security

Research interests: IoT security / Wireless sensor networks security / Content centric networks security / Key establishment and management

E: sarmadullah.khan@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Mehmet Kiraz, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Cryptographic Protocols / Privacy / Secure Multi-Party Computation / PKI / Certificate Transparency / Zero-Knowledge Protocols / Homomorphic Encryption / Threshold Cryptography / Pairing-Based Cryptography / Electronic Voting / Cloud Security / Blockchain / Cryptocurrencies / Multi-Party Threshold ECDSA / Crypto Wallets.

E: mehmet.kiraz@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Stefan Kuhn, Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Chemoinformatics / bioinformatics / algorithms / reversible computation

E: stefan.kuhn@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Dawei Liu, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Positioning and navigation systems / Wireless network security / Smartphone security / Spatial data structure,
software-defined radio

E: dawei.liu@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Francisco Aparicio Navarro, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security / Programme Leader Apprenticeships MSc Digital Technology Solutions Specialist

Research interests: Network Security / Intrusion Detection / Penetration Testing / Machine Learning / Network Traffic Analysis

E: fnavarro@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Leandros Maglaras, Associate Professor in Cyber Security

Research interests: Protection of Critical Infrastructures / Intrusion Detection Systems / Data Mining / SCADA security

E: leandros.maglaras@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Stuart O'Connor, Lecturer in Computer Science

Research interests: Gamification/ Intelligent Agents / Perceptual Evaluation / Psychophysics / Serious Games / User-Centered / Virtual Environments.

E: stuart.oconnor@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Francois Siewe, Reader in Computer Science / Head of STRL

Research interests: Modelling of context aware and pervasive systems

E: fsiewe@dmu.ac.uk


Dr David Smallwood, Associate Professor

Research interests: Procedural and functional programming / Formal Methods

E: drs@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Ismini Vasileiou, Associate Professor and Subject Leader in Information Systems

Research interests: Security Education / Information Systems / Big Data / Learning Analytics / Social Engineering / Flexible Learning

E: ismini.vasileiou@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Iryna Yevseyeva, Associate Professor in Cyber Security

Research Interests: Optimisation / decision-analysis in cyber security / human aspects of cyber security

E: iryna.yevseyeva@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Suleiman Yerima, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Malware analysis and detection / Intrusion detection systems / Transparent authentication / Mobile security / IoT security

E: syerima@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Wen Zeng, Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Cyber security (information security economics, digital rights management systems, information flow security, security metrics and standards) / Petri net based behavioural models of complex systems

E: wen.zeng@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Muhammed Ali Bingol, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Cryptography:wireless communication security / Designing and analysing cryptographic protocols / RFID security, blockchain security & privacy / Zero-knowledge proofs, secure multi-party computation / Private function evaluation / Authentication systems / e-voting

E: muhammed.bingol@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Mustafa Kaiiali, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Cloud Security / Usable Security / Identity Access Management / Malware Analysis

E: mustafa.kaiiali@dmu.ac.uk


Mr Peter Clarke, Senior Lecturer in Cyber Security

E: peter.clarke@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Fatemeh Sh. Zarrabi, Lecturer in Cyber Security

Research interests: Information Security / Cyber Security / Data Protection / GDPR Compliance / Risk Analysis / Privacy / Privacy by Design / IT Law / Software engineering / Requirement engineering / Knowledge-based Management / Semantic Web 

E: f.zarrabi@dmu.ac.uk


Dr Ali Jwaid, Senior Lecturer in Computer Science

E: ali.jwaid@dmu.ac.uk 


Dr Muhammad Kazim, Lecturer in Cyber Security

E: muhammad.kazim@dmu.ac.uk


 

Mr Thomas Reisinger, PhD researcher

Research interests: Security and Privacy in unified communication architectures

E: P17242316@my365.dmu.ac.uk


Visiting professors

Professor Thomas Brandstetter, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Managing Director of Limes Security / Professor of Computer Security at the University of Applied Sciences, St Poelten, Austria


Professor Allan Cook, Visiting Professor in Cyber Risk
Associate Director Cyber, Risk Advisory / Deloitte


Keith Cottenden, Honorary Visiting Professor in Digital Forensics
Head of Digital Forensics & Incident Response / 3B Data Security


Chris Hurran OBE, Honorary Visiting Lecturer in Cyber Security
Director of Cyber Security Challenge and Company Secretary


Professor Helge Janicke, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Research Director / Cyber Security Cooperative Research Centre, Australia


Professor Andy Jones, Honorary Visiting Professor in Digital Forensics
Director of the Cyber Security Centre / University of Hertfordshire


Dr Kevin Jones, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Head of Cyber Security Architecture, Innovation and Scouting / Airbus


Ian Mann, Honorary Visiting Lecturer in Cyber Security
Director of ECSC


Dr Robert Oates, Honorary Visiting Professor of Cyber Security and Safety
Global Software Development Lead / Rolls-Royce


Robert Partridge, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security Education
Head of Business Development, Red Team / BT


Colin Williams, Honorary Visiting Professor in Cyber Security
Director of SoftBox