Prayer rooms

The DMU Prayer Room is open for use for students and staff from 8am until 9pm Monday to Friday, during term time when DMU is open. Our Muslim Chaplain is on hand to support users and to any answer queries. Capacity may be reduced at very busy periods in the Prayer Rooms and Chapel so that staff and students who wish to social distance in the spaces can do so.

If you are a member of staff working on campus and are unable to attend the Prayer Room when it is open, you may want to discuss with your line manager whether it is feasible to allow time for you to visit other local faith centres. To find an alternative local mosque you can search online


Prayer timetable

The current prayer timetable can be found below. These are updated shortly before the start of each new month.

Prayer Timetable: October 2022


Jumu'ah (Friday prayer) times 

Jumu'ah prayers take place every Friday. Please note second and third Jumu'ah will be performed on an ad-hoc basis, provided there are sufficient numbers of people to make a congregation.

Current times:  Jumu'ah times (British Summer Time)


Prayer names   

  • Adhān (Call for Prayer)
  • Khutbah (Sermon)   
  • Jamā`ah (Congregational Prayer)

Click here to view the sermon transcript.

There are five (5) mandatory Ṣalāh (prayers) which consist of the following Raka`āt (units): 

Time Sunnah
Farḍ Sunnah
Nafl Witr  Nafl
1. Fajr (Morning) Dawn to sunrise        
 2. Ẓuhr (Midday) After true noon till Asr 4  2    
 3. Aṣr (Late Afternoon)

End of Ẓuhr to sunset

4. Maghrib (Evening) 

Sunset to when white of dusk

   3  2  2    
5. Ishā (Night) Dusk until dawn  4  2 2  3  2
Jumu'ah (Friday)  Fridays only -
instead of Ẓuhr 
 4  2  4 2  2    


2021 / 2022 (1442 / 1443 AH) diary dates

These Gregorian dates are according to the expected first sighting of the new moon (lunar crescent), pending the actual sighting. 

Laylah al-Barā`ah (Sha`bān) Thursday 17th March
Ramaḍān Saturday 2nd April 
Laylah al-Qadr Thursday 28th April
`Id al-Fitr (Ramaān Eid) Monday 2nd May
Ḏū al-Ḥijjah Friday 1st July
Yawm `Arafah Saturday 9th July
`Id al-Adhā (ajj Eid) Sunday 10th July
ijrāh (Islamic New Year) Saturday 30th July
`Āshūrah (10th Muḥarram) Monday 8th August