Institute of Engineering Sciences members

Professor Alistair Duffy, Director of the Institute of Engineering Sciences

De Montfort University
Queens Building, Room 1.02a
The Gateway

T: +44 (0)116 257 7056

Dr Meisam Abdi


Areas of specialism: Topology optimization, 3D printed lattice structures, Design for selective laser melting (SLM), Numerical modelling and simulation through FEM, XFEM and meshfree methods

Dr Nikolay Abramov


Areas of specialism: Flight dynamics, aerodynamic modelling, unsteady aerodynamics at separated flow conditions, identification, nonlinear dynamical systems, mathematical modelling.

Dr Richard Bailey BEng (Hons), PhD


Areas of specialism: tribology, corrosion, tribocorrosion, surface engineering, titanium

Dr Reza Baserinia PhD


Areas of specialism: powder technology, additive manufacturing, discrete element modelling, powder flow behaviour, die filling, hopper discharge 

 Dr Zehor Belkhatir


Areas of specialism: Control systems engineering, data analytics, control and estimation of dynamical systems: theory and applications, and modelling, analysis, and control of biomedical/biological systems.

Dr Serhan Cosar


Areas of specialism: Robot perception, human tracking, activity recognition, sparse representation, and distributed estimation

Dr Richard Cross BSc MSc PhD (Associate Professor)

Areas of specialism: nanomaterial synthesis, nano-bio interfaces, neural electrodes, thin films, antibacterial nanosystems, large area electronic materials and devices

Professor Alistair Duffy BEng (Hons), MEng, MBA, PhD, CEng, FIET, FRSA, FIEEE  (Director of IoES)


Areas of specialism: electromagnetics, EMC, validation, communications infrastructure, cables, simulation, measurements

Dr Farukh Farukh


Areas of specialism: mechanics and micromechanics of fibrous networks, multiscale computational modelling of tissues and nonwoven fibrous networks, fracture, fatigue and creep of advanced materials, mechanics of bones and biomaterials, oxidation-assisted fatigue and creep crack initiation and propagation, finite-element analysis of complex deformational behaviour, damage and fracture of advanced materials under various loading conditions

Dr Ammar Ghazal BSc, MSc, PhD


Areas of specialism: 5G communication systems, vehicular communication, CAV communication systems, Internet of Things (IoT) and smart city applications, wireless propagation channel characterisation and modelling, non-stationary channel models, high-mobility wireless propagation, and advanced MIMO communication technologies.

Professor Mikhail Goman


Areas of specialism: Mechanical Principles, Dynamics & Control, Dynamics of Nonlinear Systems.

Dr Sridhar Govindarajan


Areas of specialism: Biosensors, Electrochemistry, Point-of-care Medical Diagnostics, Printing Technology, Flexible electronics, and Nanostructured materials for renewable energy applications

Dr J A Gow MEng, PhD, Ceng, MIET (Associate Professor)


Areas of specialism: power electronics, embedded systems, control, electronic system design

Dr Dean Hamilton


Areas of specialism: electronic materials testing and failure analysis in high temperature vacuum and air environments, emulating the environmental and operating conditions (constant and thermal cycling) found in power electronic modules operated in motor controller/powertrain/propulsion systems applications like higher performance hybrid electric vehicles (sports cars, buses, trains, tanks etc).

Professor Raouf Hamzaoui Dr.rer.nat., MSc, IEEE Senior Member  (Head of the Signal Processing and Communications Systems Group)


Areas of specialism: video compression, data communication systems, error control systems, pattern recognition

Dr Fuad Khoshnaw BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD (Metallurgical Engineering), PhD (Manufacturing Engineering), Ceng


Areas of specialism: welding, corrosion, electronics packaging, fracture mechanics, coating and powder technology

Dr Krishna Nama Manjunatha BEng, MSc, PhD


Areas of specialism: materials for photovoltaic applications, transparent conductive electrodes, novel nanomaterials synthesis and characterisation, micro- and nano-electronic devices, semiconductor devices fabrication and testing, nanomaterial-based sensors

Dr Mohamed Ismaeel Maricar BEng, MSc, PhD


Areas of specialism: electromagnetic measurements, RF circuit and antennas design, semiconductor device, communications systems physical layer, IR scope measurements

Dr Daniel Paluszczyszyn BSc, Msc, PhD


Areas of specialism: Modelling, simulation and optimisation of various systems e.g. water distribution systems, hybrid electric vehicles and others within hybrid systems framework.

Professor Shashi Paul MSc, PhD (Head of the Emerging Technologies Research Centre)


Areas of specialism: emerging photovoltaic materials, emerging electronic memory devices, energy storage materials and devices (such as, Li-Ion batteries, phase change materials), nanomaterials, large area flexible electronics (such as TFTs), reliability of materials and electronic devices

Dr Iulia Salaorou BSc, MSc, PhD, FHEA, PGCHE


Areas of specialism: digital manufacturing of functional materials and electronic devices, graphene-based electronic devices, green electronics, flexible, bendable electronic devices, novel materials for photovoltaics

Dr Cristian Serdean PhD, MSc, BEng, FHEA


Areas of specialism: digital watermarking, applications of wavelet and multiwavelet transforms, image processing

Dr Yong Sun (Head of the Solid Mechanics and Materials Group)

Areas of specialism: surface engineering, coating, tribology, wear, corrosion, biomaterials

Dr Abolfazl Zahedi


Areas of specialism: experimental and computational biomechanics, additive manufacturing, solid mechanics, fatigue and fracture analysis, dynamics & vibrations of structures