Media Discourse Centre members

Professor Stuart Price, Director of the Media Discourse Centre

De Montfort University
Clephan Building
Room 1.26
Leicester, LE1 9BH

T: +44 (0)116 207 8683
E: and



Visiting professors and research associates

Dorothy Byrne, Professor of Media Discourse (Journalism) and Head of Channel Four News and Current Affairs

David Deacon, Professor in Media Discourse, and Professor of Communication and Media Analysis, Loughborough University

Alexandra Halkias, Professor of Media Discourse and Gender Studies, and Professor of Sociology, Panteion University of Social and Political Science, Athens

Dr Leonardo Custódio, Senior Research Fellow in Media Discourse, and Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Institute for Advanced Social Research, University of Tampere

Dr Carolina Amadeo, MDC Research Associate and Birkbeck School of Law

Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Visiting Professor in Media Discourse and Journalism

Ali Hines, Land Campaigner, Global Witness

Viviana Echávez Molina, Media Discourse Research Associate, University of Campinas, UNICAMP, Brazil 

Professor Terry Bamber, Pinewood and Warner Bros 

Professor Mark Griffiths, NTU 

Tom Mills, Senior Research Fellow, Aston 

Glynn Pegler, Senior Research Fellow, Honorary Consul to Mexico 

Members of the centre


Dr Jenifer Chao, VC2020 Lecturer, Journalism

T: +44 (0)116 257 7322



Mr Jeremy Clay, VC2020 Lecturer, Journalism

T: 0116 257 7947



Mr Rhys Davies, Senior Lecturer in Media and Film

T: 0116 366 4345


Mr Brian Dodds, Senior Lecturer, Journalism

T: 0116 257 7546


Dr Ben Harbisher, Senior Lecturer, Media Production


Dr Nayia Kamenou, VC2020 Lecturer in Social Work 

T: 0116 257 8731

Mr Pervez Khan, Lecturer in Investigative Journalism


Professor Jason Lee, LMS Partnerships, Media and Communication

T: +44 (0)116 257 7493

Mr Jamie Lochhead, VC2020 Lecturer, Visual Effects

T: 0116 366 4405


Professor Stuart Price, Chair of MDC, Media and Communication

T: +44 (0)116 207 8683

Mr David Penman, Senior Lecturer, Journalism

T: +44 (0)116 207 8320

Dr Paul Smith, Lecturer in Television Production, Media Production


Dr Giuliana Tiripelli, Digital Journalism and Media Discourse

T: 0116 257 7896


PTHP staff (primary affiliation)

Fernanda Amaral, Journalism and Media

Zoe Armour, Media and Communication

Dr Ahmed Bahiya, Journalism and Media

Dr Claire Sedgwick, Media and Communication

Full-time staff (secondary affiliation)


Professor Raouf Hamzaoui, Professor in Media Technology 

T: +44 (0)116 207 8096 


Dr Gil Pasternak, ADH, Reader in Social and Political Photographic Cultures


PhD students


Batal Almutairi, Media Discourse: politics and social media use in Kuwait

Sarah Andrew, Media Discourse and Health

Zoe Armour, Media Discourse: an ethnographic study of sub-cultural participation in electronic dance music culture

Gurvinder Aujla-Sidhu, Media Discourse: Race, Ethnicity and Identity

Jennifer Amapamoere Ere: Digital Surveillance and Social Justice in Nigeria: A study of New Media Regulations

Rayna Lountzis, Media Discourse: Film and Finance

Ruona Meyer - Media Discourse: Investigative Journalism in Africa

Nagham Naddour, Media Discourse: gender representation in Middle Eastern film

Maria Straw-Cinar, Media Discourse and Screenwriting

Yu Sui, Media Discourse: rumour and the internet in China

PhD Awards

Dr Sheila Cameron, 2008

Dr Ruth Sanz Sabido, without corrections 2013

Dr Cassian Vian, 2014

Dr Claire Sedgwick, 2017

Dr Khadijah Aroyewun-Adekomaiya, 2018

Dr Ahmed Bahiya, 2018

Dr Fernanda Amaral, 2018