Name Position Areas of expertise
Professor Muyiwa Oyinlola  Director of IESD and Professor of Innovation for Sustainable Development  
  • Sustainable Development
  • Innovation
  • Circular Economy
  • Engineering for sustainable development
  • Plastic Waste Management in LMICs
  • Heat transfer
  • Energy in emerging economies
  • Sustainable energy
  • Transdisciplinary  for International Development
Professor Raffaella Villa  Professor
  •  Applied microbial processes across the fields of wastewater treatment (bioremediation) and energy from waste (anaerobic digestion and algae)
  • Waste biotransformation
  • Environmental engineering
Dr Andrew Wright Reader in Building Engineering Physics
  • Energy in buildings
  • Climate change and buildings
  • Modelling
  • Building retrofit
Dr Abhishek Tiwary Associate Professor
  • Techno-economic and environmental appraisal of emerging processes and projects
  • Off-grid
  • Air quality
  • Water treatment solutions
Dr Rupert Gammon Associate Professor
  • Smart grids
  • Mini-grids
  • Energy system integration
  • Energy storage
  • Demand-side response/demand shaping
  • Low-carbon transport systems
  • Electric vehicles
  • Hydrogen energy systems
  • Fuel cells
  • International development
  • Sustainable cooking
  • Remote monitoring and control
  • Formula Student (electric)
Dr Andrew Reeves Associate Professor
  • Education for Sustainable Development
  • Sustainable lifestyles
  • Behaviour change
  • Sustainability transitions
  • Household energy efficiency
Dr Leticia Ozawa-Meida Senior Research Fellow
  • Greenhouse gas emissions accounting
  • Corporate climate strategies
  • Industrial energy use analysis
  • Climate change mitigation
  • Behaviour change impact evaluation
Dr Neil Brown Senior Lecturer
  • Energy efficiency
  • Renewable energy
  • Appropriate technology
  • Electromechanical design
  • Instrumentation
  • Data design and processing
Dr Graeme Stuart Senior Lecturer
  • Energy management
  • Numerical energy management
  • Automated data analysis
  • Energy consumption modelling
  • Event detection
  • Data visualisation
  • Energy performance
  • Energy feedback
Dr Andrew Mitchell Senior Lecturer
  • Community sustainability project evaluation research
  • Language and discourse analysis
  • Learning and sense-making for transition practice
  • Policy analysis
  • Evaluation research methods and theory development
Dr Kegong Diao Senior Lecturer
  • Smart water systems
  • Hydraulic simulation and computing
  • Vulnerability, resilience and risk assessment
  • Modelling
Dr Vijaya Pakka Senior Lecturer
  • Smart Grids
  • Power System Analysis
  • Electricity Markets and Trading Mechanisms
  • Active network management
  • Transmission and Distribution systems
  • Microgrids
  • Penetration of Renewable Distributed Sources of Energy
  • Machine Learning Algorithms
  • Agent-Based Modelling, Statistical Analysis
  • Stochastic Dynamic Systems
  • Control Systems
Dr Yuan Tian Senior Lecturer
  • Thermal energy storage
  • Energy-efficient buildings
  • Computational fluid dynamics
  • Industrial waste heat recovery
Dr Hindolo George-Williams  Senior Lecturer
  • Reliability and resilience of power systems
  • Power systems operation scheduling and optimization
  • Carbon flow tracing in energy systems
  • Energy access in low-income countries
  • Low-cost smart grids for low-income countries
  • Uncertainty propagation in energy system models
  • Smart electric vehicle charging. Distributed energy systems
  • Complex systems and processes modelling
  • Probabilistic risk assessment in nuclear power plants
Dr Sanober Khattak  Senior Lecturer
  • Peak load and total energy demand reduction in buildings
  • Thermal comfort in buildings, Energy and resource efficiency in the industry and buildings
  • Exergy analysis to model material
  • Energy and water flows for resource accounting (life cycle analysis)
Dr Emmanouil Tyllianakis Lecturer
  • Environmental Economics
  • Welfare Economics
  • Risk Perceptions
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Environmental valuation
  • Agri-environmental schemes
  • Choice experiments
  • Regression discontinuity analysis
  • Structural equation modelling
  • Meta-analysis
  • Q-methodology
  • Multilevel modelling
  • Nature-based solutions
  • Marine protected area management
  • Marine plastic pollution management
Professor Rick Greenough   Emeritus Professor
  • Energy systems
  • Renewable energy
  • Shallow geothermal energy
  • Industrial sustainability
Professor Mark Lemon  Emeritus Professor
  • Systems thinking and education for sustainability
  • Integrated environmental systems
  • Integrative methods and transdisciplinary skills
  • Modern methods of construction