Skip to content

Institute of Artificial Intelligence members

Jump to:

 

Leadership

Professor Daniela M. Romano, Director of IAI, and Professor of Artifical Intelligence & Games

Research Theme Leader for Vision & Game AI

T: +44 0116 207 8490
E: Daniela.Romano@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: Agent-Based Modelling, Brain-Computer Interface,  Healthcare Technologies, Human-AI interaction, Virtual Reality and Game AI, research at the interaction between spychology and intelligent systems (e.g. Game Addiction).


Professor Shengxiang Yang, Deputy Director of IAI, and Professor of Computational Intelligence

Research Theme Leader for Computational Intelligence (CI)
T: +44 (0)116 207 8805
E:  syang@dmu.ac.uk 
W: http://www.tech.dmu.ac.uk/~syang/

Research Interests: Computational intelligence (esp. evolutionary computation), data mining and data streaming mining, dynamic and/or multi-objective optimisation, and relevant applications


Professor Francisco Chiclana, Professor of Computational Intelligence and Decision Making, 

Research Theme Leader for Research in Society Enhancement (RISE) 

T: +44 (0)116 207 8413
E:  chiclana@dmu.ac.uk
W:  www.tech.dmu.ac.uk/~chiclana/

Research Interests: social network decision making, opinion dynamics, information fusion, consensus


Professor David Elizondo, Professor in Intelligent Transport,

Research Theme Leader for De Montfort Interdisciplinary Group in Intelligent Transport Systems (DIGITS)

T: +44 (0)116 207 8471
E: Elizondo@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: neural networks, optimisation, intelligent transport, precision agronomy


Professor Yingjie Yang, Professor of Computational Intelligence

Research Theme Leader for Leader Data Analytics

T: +44 (0)116 257 7939 
E: yyang@dmu.ac.uk
Research interests: data analytics, uncertainty modelling, condition monitoring, applied AI


 

Members

 Dr Zacharias Anastassi Associate Professor

T: +44 116 257 7021
E:  zacharias.anastassi@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: numerical analysis, numerical differential equations, scientific computing, parallel algorithms


Dr Fabio Caraffini, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 2078404

E:  fabio.caraffini@dmu.ac.uk
W:  https://sites.google.com/site/facaraff/

Research Interests: evolutionary computation, metaheuristic optimisation, memetic computing, differential evolution


Dr Simon Coupland, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 207 8419
E: simonc@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: type-2 fuzzy logic, uncertainty modelling, fuzzy systems and its applications


Dr Lipika Deka, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6051
E:  Lipika.deka@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: intelligent transport systems, concurrency control, software updates, applied AI


Dr. Conor Fahy, VC2020 Lecturer in Computer Games Programming

T: 0116 366 4275
E: conor.fahy@dmu.ac.uk

Research interests: Swarm Intelligence, Unsupervised learning, Semi-supervised learning, Machine Learning in dynamic environments


 Dr Mario GongoraAssociate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 207 8226
E:  mgongora@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: computational intelligence, data mining and behaviour identification, evolutionary programming, intelligent mobile robots and bioengineering


Dr Sarah Greenfield, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6171
E: s.greenfield@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: type-2 fuzzy logic, defuzzification, fuzzy algorithms, reasoning under uncertainty


Dr Pamela Hardaker, Associate Professor Student Experience

E: pamela.hardaker@dmu.ac.uk

Research interests: Neural Networks, Genetic Algorithms, Signal Processing, Feature Selection, Decision Making and Embedded Systems.


 Dr Archie Khuman, VC2020 Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6251
E:  arjab.khuman@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: uncertainty modelling, fuzzy logic, rough sets, grey theory


Dr. Ioannis Kypraios, Associate Professor in Games and AI 

T: TBC 
E: ioannis.kypraios@dmu.ac.uk 
W: linkedin.com/in/dr-ioannis-kypraios-59a8079

Research Interests: Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare Technologies, Neuroinformatics, Robust Object Recognition Systems, Machine Vision and Computer Vision for Embedded Computing, including autonomous driving; IoT and multisensor systems. 


Dr Hossein Malekmohamadi,VC2020 Lecturer in Games Programming

T: +44 (0)116 250 6182
E:  Hossein.Malekmohamadi@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: computer vision, machine learning, quality of experience, computer graphics


  Dr Ahmet Orun, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6444
E: aorun@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: bayesian networks, computer vision, laser imaging, computational quantum technologies


 Dr Daniel Paluszczyszyn, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8939
E:  paluszcol@dmu.ac.uk
W:  www.linkedin.com/pub/daniel-paluszczyszyn/13/545/463

Research Interests: intelligent transport systems, autonomous vehicles, electric vehicles, hybrid systems control


Dr Jethro Shell, Senior Lecturer in Games and Intelligent Systems

T: 0116 2078520
E: jethros@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: fuzzy logic, transfer learning, computer games and AI, healthcare


Dr Aboozar Taherkhani, Early Career Academic (ECA) Fellowship – Creativity in the Digital Age – Computer Science and Informatics

T: 0116 366 4500
E: aboozar.taherkhani@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: artificial intelligence, data science and big data, deep neural network, image processing, signal processing, multimodal data analysis, spiking neural network, robotics, activity recognition


Dr Aladdin Ayesh, Professor
T: +44 (0)116 250 6295
E:  aayesh@dmu.ac.uk
W:  www.aladdin-ayesh.info

Research Interests: autonomous cognitive systems, cognitive informatics, machine learning analytics, and natural language processing


Professor Andy Collop, Professor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Research Interests: road materials, road maintenance, civil engineering, mechanical engineering


Professor Raouf Hamzaoui, Professor in Media Technology

T: +44 116 207 8096
E: rhamzaoui@dmu.ac.uk
W: http://www.dmu.ac.uk/raoufhamzaoui

Research Interests: image and video compression, multimedia communication, error control systems, pattern recognition


Professor Tracy Harwood, Professor of Digital Culture

T: 44+ (0)116 207 8028
E: tharwood@dmu.ac.uk
W: https://tgharwood.wixsite.com/website

Research Interests: artificial intelligence, digital culture, intelligent augmentation, digital transformation


Dr. Mary H. He, Senior Lecturer in Computer Science

T: 0116257 7589 
E: mary.he@dmu.ac.uk 
Research interests: AI, Machine Learning, IoT Intelligence,  Cognitive Cybersecurity, Data Analytics, Network Modelling, Trustworthy Autonomous Systems.


Dr Fabrizio Poltronieri, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 2577444
E: fabrizio.poltronieri@dmu.ac.uk
W: www.fabriziopoltronieri.com

Areas of expertise: creative AI, image segmentation, cultural computing, generative art


Dr Rupert Gammon, Senior Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)116 257 7877
E: rgammon@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: smart grids, international development, low-carbon transport, hydrogen energy systems 


Professor Adel Hatamimarbini, Professor of Business and Management

T: +44 (0)116 207 8396
E:  adel.hatamimarbini@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: quantitative modelling in operations management, logistics and transportation, decision support systems (optimisation, DEA, MCDM,…), performance evaluation of supply chain management


Dr Amin Kolahdooz, Lecturer for PG Engineering Apprenticeship Programme

T: +44 773 726 0916
E: amin.kolahdooz@dmu.ac.uk

Research interests: Materials Processes, Materials Science, Machine Learning, VR and AR in Manufacturing, Finite Element Method, Optimization.


Dr Anthony Williams, VC2020 Lecturer

E: anthony.williams@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: colony collapse disorder, meta heuristics, internet of things, genetic algorithms 


Dr Xiaochuan Li, Lecturer

E: xiaochuan.li@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: condition monitoring, prognosis, diagnostics, rotating machinery


 

Visting Scholars