Institute of Artificial Intelligence members

Professor Yingjie Yang, Deputy Director Institute of Artificial Intelligence

De Montfort University
Room 4.57, Gateway House
The Gateway
Leicester
LE1 9BH

T: +44 (0)116 2577939
E: yyang@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: data analytics, uncertainty modelling, condition monitoring, applied AI


Director

Professor David Mba, Director of IAI, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean
T: +44 (0) 116 201 3956
E: david.mba@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: applied AI, condition monitoring, fault diagnosis, mechanical engineering


Members

Professor Abbes Amira, Associate Dean Research & Innovation
T: +44 116 250 6056
E: abbes.amira@dmu.ac.uk

Research interests: Embedded Systems, Robotics and High Performance Computing, Artificial Intelligence, Big Data and IoT, Healthcare Technologies, Image and Vision Systems


  Dr Zacharias Anastassi, Senior Lecturer in Computational Mathematics

T: +44 116 257 7021
E:  zacharias.anastassi@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: numerical analysis, numerical differential equations, scientific computing, parallel algorithms


Dr Fabio Caraffini, VC2020 Lecturer in Computer Science
T: +44 (0)116 2078404
E:  fabio.caraffini@dmu.ac.uk
W:  https://sites.google.com/site/facaraff/

Research Interests: evolutionary computation, metaheuristic optimisation, memetic computing, differential evolution


Professor Francisco Chiclana, Professor of Computational Intelligence and Decision Making, Associate Dean Research
T: +44 (0)116 207 8413
E:  chiclana@dmu.ac.uk
W:  www.tech.dmu.ac.uk/~chiclana/

Research Interests: social network decision making, opinion dynamics, information fusion, consensus


Professor Andy Collop, Professor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Research Interests: road materials, road maintenance, civil engineering, mechanical engineering


Dr Simon Colreavy-Donnelly
E: simon.colreavy-donnelly@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: deep learning, machine learning, graphics, image processing


Dr Simon Coupland, Associate Professor
T: +44 (0)116 207 8419
E: simonc@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: type-2 fuzzy logic, uncertainty modelling, fuzzy systems and its applications


Dr Lipika Deka, VC 2020 Lecturer in Computer Science
T: +44 (0)116 250 6051
E:  Lipika.deka@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: intelligent transport systems, concurrency control, software updates, applied AI


Professor David Elizondo, Professor in Intelligent Transport, Director of DIGITS
T: +44 (0)116 207 8471
E: Elizondo@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: neural networks, optimisation, intelligent transport, position agronomy


Dr Mario Gongora, Associate Professor
T: +44 (0)116 207 8226
E:  mgongora@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: computational intelligence, data mining and behaviour identification, evolutionary programming, intelligent mobile robots and bioengineering


Ms Pamela Hardaker

Associate Professor Student Experience
E: pamela.hardaker@dmu.ac.uk

Research interests: Neural Networks, Genetic Algorithms, Signal Processing, Feature Selection, Decision Making and Embedded Systems.


Dr Elmina Homapour, VC2020 Lecturer in Computer Science
T: +44 (0)116 201 3988
E:  elmina.homapour@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: business Intelligence, financial mathematics, applied economics, behavioural economics


Dr Liang Hu, VC2020 Lecturer in Intelligent Transport Systems
T: +44 (0)116 250 6613
E:  liang.hu@dmu.ac.uk
W:  https://sites.google.com/view/lianghu01

Research Interests: autonomous vehicles, motion planning and control, bayesian signal processing, decision making


Dr Benjamin Kenwright, Principal Lecturer
T: +441162506711
E: benjamin.kenwright@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: graphics, games, simulation, optimisation


Dr Archie Khuman, VC2020 Lecturer
T: +44 (0)116 250 6251
E:  arjab.khuman@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: uncertainty modelling, fuzzy logic, rough sets, grey theory


Dr Hossein Malekmohamadi, VC2020 Lecturer in Games Programming
T: +44 (0)116 250 6182
E:  Hossein.Malekmohamadi@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: computer vision, machine learning, quality of experience, computer graphics


Dr Armaghan Moemeni, Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)116 257 7482
E:  armaghan@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: computer vision, deep learning, applied AI, interactive computing and HCI


Dr Ahmet Orun, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6444
E: aorun@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: bayesian networks, computer vision, laser imaging, computational quantum technologies


Dr Daniel Paluszczyszyn, Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)116 207 8939
E:  paluszcol@dmu.ac.uk
W:  www.linkedin.com/pub/daniel-paluszczyszyn/13/545/463

Research Interests: intelligent transport systems, autonomous vehicles, electric vehicles, hybrid systems control


Dr Sarah Greenfield, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 250 6171
E: s.greenfield@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: type-2 fuzzy logic, defuzzification, fuzzy algorithms, reasoning under uncertainty


Dr Jethro Shell, Senior Lecturer in Games and Intelligent Systems

T: 0116 2078520
E: jethros@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: fuzzy logic, transfer learning, computer games and AI, healthcare


Dr Anthony Williams, VC2020 Lecturer

E: anthony.williams@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: colony collapse disorder, meta heuristics, internet of things, genetic algorithms


Professor Shengxiang Yang, Professor of Computational Intelligence, Director of Centre for Computational Intelligence (CCI)
T: +44 (0)116 207 8805
E:  syang@dmu.ac.uk
W: http://www.tech.dmu.ac.uk/~syang/

Research Interests: Computational intelligence (esp. evolutionary computation), data mining and data streaming mining, dynamic and/or multi-objective optimisation, and relevant applications


Professor Adel Hatamimarbini, Professor of Business and Management

T: +44 (0)116 207 8396
E:  adel.hatamimarbini@dmu.ac.uk
W:  dmu.ac.uk/bal

Research Interests: quantitative modelling in operations management, logistics and transportation, decision support systems (optimisation, DEA, MCDM,…), performance evaluation of supply chain management


 

Associate members:

Dr Aladdin Ayesh, Reader in Artificial Intelligence
T: +44 (0)116 250 6295
E:  aayesh@dmu.ac.uk
W:  www.aladdin-ayesh.info

Research Interests: autonomous cognitive systems, cognitive informatics, machine learning analytics, and natural language processing


Professor Raouf Hamzaoui, Professor in Media Technology
T: +44 116 207 8096
E: rhamzaoui@dmu.ac.uk
W: http://www.dmu.ac.uk/raoufhamzaoui

Research Interests: image and video compression, multimedia communication, error control systems, pattern recognition


Professor Tracy Harwood, Professor of Digital Culture
T: 44+ (0)116 207 8028
E: tharwood@dmu.ac.uk
W: https://tgharwood.wixsite.com/website

Research Interests: artificial intelligence, digital culture, intelligent augmentation, digital transformation


Dr Fabrizio Poltronieri, Lecturer
T: +44 (0)116 2577444
E: fabrizio.poltronieri@dmu.ac.uk
W: www.fabriziopoltronieri.com

Areas of expertise: creative AI, image segmentation, cultural computing, generative art


Dr Rupert Gammon, Senior Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)116 257 7877
E: rgammon@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: smart grids, international development, low-carbon transport, hydrogen energy systems


Research fellows

Dr Xiaochuan Li, Research Fellow
E: xiaochuan.li@dmu.ac.uk

Research Interests: condition monitoring, prognosis, diagnostics, rotating machinery

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.