Principles and Practice of Stoma Care

The aim of the module is for the practitioner to develop advanced skills, knowledge and professional expertise in stoma care. This module has been designed to enable nurses working in the field of stoma care to build upon their previous physiological, psychological and social knowledge base. This is to facilitate development of professional critical analysis / synthesis, reflective and thinking skills.  

Introduction to physiology of the gastro intestinal tract and urinary tract / altered physiology. 

Introduction to counselling skills

Development of self-concept and body image,

Nursing Assessment

Medical and surgical care, pre, peri and post-operative care

 Nutritional care

Professional developments in gastrointestinal / stoma care nursing

Stoma formation, with reference to the needs of specific groups e.g. differences in gender, sexuality, age, cultural differences etc.

Types of stoma and reasons for formation, product selection, peri-stomal skin care,

Role of support organizations, media, social media

Entry Criteria

  • Effective registration with the NMC / HPC or other relevant professional body. ESSENTIAL
  • Undertaken successful level 4/5 academic study. ESSENTIAL
  • Currently be employed in practice and have the support of their manager in undertaking the module. ESSENTIAL

How to apply

Online Application Forms and Guidance Information

Key information

Module Category: PCPH
Module Code: 3020
Module Credits: 30
Module Level: 6

Module leader

Penny Harrison
E: pharrison@dmu.ac.uk
T: 0116 201 3854

Semesters

Semester 1 (2020)

  • Wednesday 7th October
  • Thursday 8th October
  • Wednesday 4th November
  • Thursday 5th November
  • Wednesday 2nd December
  • Thursday 3rd December

Semester 2 (2020)

  • Wednesday 22nd April
  • Thursday 23rd April
  • Wednesday 13th May
  • Thursday 14th May
  • Wednesday 10th June
  • Thursday 11th June

 

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

News target area image
News

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.