Developing Research Skills

This module examines the important role of research in Nursing and the Health Care Professions. You will explore some of the main methods used in health research, the underpinning philosophies and research ethics. This module promotes critical thinking surrounding the consideration and understanding of appropriate research methods, research findings and their application to practice. Outlined in the module guide, is a written piece of work - a proposal to undertake a piece of research. This module is suitable for nurses, midwives and all healthcare professionals who wish to develop their practice through the inclusion of research and evidence-based materials.

Campus

City Campus

Entry Criteria

  • Effective registration with the NMC / HPC or other relevant professional body. ESSENTIAL
  • Undertaken successful level 4/5 academic study. ESSENTIAL
  • Currently be employed in practice and have the support of their manager in undertaking the module. ESSENTIAL

How to apply

Online Application Forms and Guidance Information

Key information

Module Category: PCPH
Module Code: 3041
Module Credits: 30
Module Level: 6

Module leader

Ed Griffin

E: egriffin@dmu.ac.uk
T: (0116) 207 8284

Semesters

Semester 2

  • Tuesday 28th January
  • Tuesday 4th February
  • Tuesday 11th February
  • Tuesday 18th February
  • Tuesday 25th February
  • Tuesday 3rd March
  • Tuesday 10th March
  • Tuesday 17th March
  • Tuesday 24th March
  • Tuesday 31st March

 

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

News target area image
News

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.