Grant Holders

Find out about the team awarded funding to carry out research into sickle cell and the issues faced by young people at school who live with the disorder.

The team awarded the ESRC Grant:

  • Professor Simon M Dyson, Unit for the Social Study of Thalassaemia and Sickle Cell, De Montfort University, Leicester
  • Professor Lorraine Culley, School of Applied Social Sciences, De Montfort University, Leicester
  • Dr Sue Dyson, School of Nursing and Midwifery, De Montfort University, Leicester
  • Professor Karl Atkin, Department of Health Sciences, University of York
  • Dr Jack Demaine, Department of Social Sciences, Loughborough University

In addition to the grant-holders, the research team included:

  • Dr Hala Evans (née Abuateya) Unit for the Social Study of Thalassaemia and Sickle Cell, De Montfort University, Leicester
  • Dave Rowley, School of Allied Health Sciences, De Montfort University, Leicester
  • Eileen Buchanan, Unit for the Social Study of Thalassaemia and Sickle Cell, De Montfort University, Leicester

The advisory group who helped guide the research were:

  • Anthony Mason, Sickle Cell Society
  • Marie-Claire Monkam Ngeumshe, Sickle Cell Society
  • Cecilia Shoetan, Barking, Dagenham and Redbridge Sickle Cell Group
  • the late Sonia Lindsay, OSCAR Birmingham
  • Ventreasa McQuinn, OSCAR Sandwell
  • Carol King, OSCAR Leicester
  • Angela Dias, OSCAR Nottingham
  • Susan Crawford, Sickle Cell Nurse Counsellor, Heart of Birmingham PCT
  • Professor Martyn Denscombe, De Montfort University
  • Professor David Gillborn, Institute of Education, London

The Sickle Cell and Education (SECD) group:

The SECD group helpedto find the respondents for the surveyand comprised:

Moira Dick, Susan Height, Sandra O'Driscoll, Shirley Samuel, Baba Inusa, Jo Howard, Helen Appleby, Neil Westerdale, Lola Oni, Elizabeth Okuyiga, Vesna Graham, Beatrice Barbola, Gavin Cho, Michele Afif, Lurieteen Miller, Susan Crawford, Maureen Williams, Janet Lawrence, Paulette Gaskin, Wendy Mills, Sekayi Tangayi, Bernice Burton, Comfort Okolo, Evelyn Chibambo, Beverley Smalling, Anthony Akhidenor, Mary Opare-Ababio, Joanne McLoughlin, Iyamide Thomas, Comfort Ndive, Blanche McCalla, Anthony Mason, Carol Nwosu, Cecilia Shoetan, Tito Idowu, Eileen Bowen, Susan Mew, Beverley Bell-Jessop, Maureen Scarlet, Monica Noel, Carol King, Winston Nurse, Melita Dixon, Angela Dias, Sonia Lindsay, Sharon Wilson, Anndeloris Chacon, and Marjorie Ritchie.

The Research Evidence

Academic Publications

Public Information


The ResearchTeam

Work with us

What is Sickle Cell

The Research Evidence

Young People on Sickle Cell

Resources for Schools and Parents

Social and Policy Impact of the Research

Further Information

Contact Us

Simon Dyson
Professor of Applied Sociology
Room 1.27 Hawthorn Building
De Montfort University
Leicester LE1 9BH
T: +44 (0)116 257 7751

Events target area image

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.