Centre for Urban Research on Austerity partnerships and collaborations

Dr Valeria Guarneros Meza with Dr Gisela Zaremberg, FLASCO. Conversing with Goliath? Participation, mobilisation and repression around neo-extractivist and environmental conflicts, a British Academy Newton Advanced Fellowship.

Collaborative Governance Under Austerity: An Eight-case comparative study

DMU led an ESRC-funded international study of austerity governance in cities (Ref: ES/L012898/1).  The project, funded from April 2015 until July 2018, explored austerity governance in eight cities: Athens, Baltimore, Barcelona, Dublin, Leicester, Melbourne, Montreal and Nantes. Finding ways to collaborate with citizens has always been important for central and local governments. Our study informs academics, politicians and activists about the different ways in which cities interpret austerity and attempt to create coalitions to govern and resist the spatio-temporally differentiated crises they experience. The project is part of the ESRC's Urban Transformations portfolio, seeking to assess critically and understand the impact and significance of transformations for the welfare and wellbeing of urban citizens across the globe.

You can follow the project’s progress on the austerity governance page of our blog.

Project team

We have a diverse multi-disciplinary team of eleven investigators working on the project, encompassing geography, political science, public policy, sociology and social theory.

Dr Ismael Blanco, Autonomous University of Barcelona 
Case Study: Barcelona.
E:ismael.blanco.fillola@googlemail.com 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Iblancof.

Dr Ioannis Chorianopoulos, University of the Aegean
Case Study: Athens
E: I.Chorianopoulos@geo.aegean.gr 

Professor Jonathan Davies, De Montfort University (Principal Investigator)
Case study: Leicester
E: jsdavies@dmu.ac.uk 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/profjsdavies 

Dr Niamh Gaynor, Dublin City University 
Case study: Dublin
E: niamh.gaynor@dcu.ie 

Professor Brendan Gleeson, University of Melbourne
Case Study: Melbourne (with Helen Sullivan)
E: brendan.gleeson@unimelb.edu.au 

Professor Steven Griggs, De Montfort University
Case Study: Nantes (with David Howarth)
E: sgriggs@dmu.ac.uk 

Professor Pierre Hamel, Université de Montréal 
Case study: Montreal (with Roger Keil)
E: Pierre.hamel@umontreal.ca 

Professor David Howarth, University of Essex
Case Study: Nantes (with Steven Griggs)
E: davidh@essex.ac.uk 

Professor Roger Keil, York University, Toronto 

Case Study: Montreal (with Pierre Hamel)
E:rkeil@yorku.ca 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rkeil 

Paul O’Brien, Chief Executive, Association for Public Service Excellence
External Consultant and Impact Advisor
E: PO'Brien@apse.org.uk.  
Twitter: https://twitter.com/apsetweets 

Dr Madeleine Pill, University of Sydney 
Case Study: Baltimore
E: madeleine.pill@sydney.edu.au 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/pillmad 

Professor Helen Sullivan, Australian National University 
Case Study: Melbourne (with Brendan Gleeson)
E: helen.sullivan@unimelb.edu.au 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/HelenCSullivan

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.