Centre for Urban Research on Austerity members

Professor Jonathan S. Davies (Director), Professor of Critical Policy Studies

T: +44 (0)116 257 7818
E: jsdavies@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: urban, governance, austerity, state, Gramsci


Mark Charlton, DMU Head of Public Engagement (Doctoral Student)

T: +44 (0)116 2506183
E: mcharlton@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: public engagement, community, universities, public good


Dr Merce Cortina- Oriol, VC2020 Lecturer in Public Policy and Urban Politics

T: +44 (0)116 207 8223
E: merce.cortina-oriol@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: social movement, urban politics, participation 


Dr Adam Fishwick, VC2020 Senior Lecturer in Urban Studies and Public Policy

T: +44 (0)116 207 8723
E: adam.fishwick@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Latin America, urban, working class, resistance


Dr Regina Frank, Senior Lecturer in Entrepreneurship and Innovation

T: +44 (0)116 257 7371
E: regina.frank@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: entrepreneurship, innovation, Brazil, urban


Dr Arianna Giovannini, VC2020 Senior Lecturer in Local Politics

T: +44 (0) 116 257 7093
E: arianna.giovannini@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: local politics, regionalisation, devolution


Professor Steven Griggs, Director of Local Governance Research Centre

T: +44 (0)116 257 7786
E: sgriggs@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: discourse theory, policy process, democratic spaces, sustainable aviation


Dr Rachel Granger, Reader in Creative Industries Management

T: +44 (0)116 250 6193
E: rachel.granger@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: creative industries, smart cities, urban economic development


Dr Valeria Guarneros Meza, Reader in Public Policy and Politics

T: +44 (0)116 257 7038
E: valeria.guarneros@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: urban democracy, infrastructure, informality, governance


Professor Richard Hall, Professor of Education and Technology

T: +44 (0)116 207 8254
E: rhall1@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: education, learning, leadership, alienation


Dr Jamie Jordan, Lecturer in International Relations

T: 0116 207 8871
E: Jamie.jordan@dmu.ac.uk

Keywords: European governance, labour, international politics


Jennie Jordan, Programme Leader, Business Management in Creative Industries

T: +44 (0)116 257 7697
E: jjordan@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: creative cities, festivalisation, urbanism 


Dr Steven Parker, Senior Lecturer in Public Policy and Project Management

T: +44 (0)116 201 3984
E: steven.parker@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: local government, public management, leadership, social work


Dr Jonathan Payne, Director of People Organisations and Work Institute (POWI)

T: +44 (0)116 257 7236
E: jpayne@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: work, employment, skills, local economic development, automation


Dr Zoe Pflaeger Young, Lecturer in International Relations

T: +44 (0) 116 207 8222
E: zoe.pflaeger@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: empowerment, development, gendering and parental leave


Professor Jo Richardson, Associate Dean for Research – Faculty of Business and Law

T: +44 (0)116 207 8859
E: jrichardson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: housing, regeneration, social inclusion, traveller communities


Dr Mark Roberts, Lecturer and Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)116 257 7260
E: m.roberts@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: urban politics, democracy, partnerships, institutions and institutional theory


Professor Julia J.A. Shaw, Professor of Law and Social Justice

T: +44 (0)116 257 7826
E: jshaw@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: legal philosophy, legal semiotics, social justice, food justice


Dr Ed Thompson, Associate Professor in Strategic Management and Marketing

T: +44 (0)116 255 1551 (7226)
E: ethompson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: strategy, austerity, governance, resilience, participatory democracy


Dr Ben Whitham, Lecturer in International Relations

T: +44 (0)116 250 6082
E: ben.whitham@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: islamophobia, austerity, international political economy


Dr Jenni Cauvain, Research Assistant

Honorary research associates

Ines Newman, Local Governance and Democracy Expert

Paul O’Brien, Chief Executive, Association of Public Service Excellence

Dr Adrian Bua, Researcher, New Economics Foundation

Dr Hillary Shaw, Food Poverty Expert

Visiting fellows

Raphael Bischof, visiting doctoral student, Federal University of ABC, Brazil

Manuel Fernandez Garcia, Erasmus visiting doctoral student, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Sevilla.

Dr Ricard Vilaregut, visiting post-doctoral Research Fellow (University of Girona)

PhD students 

Mark Charlton

Marco Gottero

Ibrahim Has

Paul O’Brien

Heather Powell

Leon Reichle

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.