Skip to content

DMU scientist wins prestigious award for research-led teaching

Dr Philippe Wilson has been named winner of the prestigious Joseph Black Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Dr Wilson, of De Montfort University Leicester (DMU), has won the award for the development and application of novel and engaging techniques and ideas to the research-led teaching of analytical chemistry.

He said: “I was absolutely thrilled to receive the news of the award from RSC President Professor Dame Carol Robinson. While of course being taken aback at receiving such a prestigious award, I am mainly grateful to my PhD students for helping to drive our research agenda, and the undergraduates for catalysing the transfer of research-based methods to teaching in a practice-based cohort.

"My main thanks go to my parents for supporting me from my early interests in biology and agriculture through to developing myself as a chemist, as well as my wife and children.”

Wilson, Philippe  1 - Joseph Black Award
Dr Wilson was born in London and raised in a small village south of Bristol, before moving to the University of Bath to complete an undergraduate master's degree in Chemistry. Graduating with first class honours, he went on to complete a PhD at Bath before taking an academic fellowship position at DMU. Now a senior lecturer, he lives in Nottinghamshire with his family. In winning the award, Dr Wilson also receives £2,000 and a medal.

Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said: “Over the years, our lives have been significantly improved by the chemical sciences, from medicines and food to the environment itself. We are proud of the contribution the chemical sciences make to our global community, which is why it is right for us to recognise important innovations and expertise such as these.

“Our prizes and awards recognise people from a range of different specialisms, backgrounds and locations. Every winner is an inspiration to the chemistry community and will play an incredibly important role in enriching people’s lives for generations to come.”

Discover the Leicester School of Pharmacy at our next open day
DMU academic appointed to Government committee
DMU lecturer named in Forbes' 30 under 30 list

Dr Wilson and his team are developing a simple sensor for the early detection of breast cancer, as well as investigating new ways to increase the scope of current analytical techniques. 

The Royal Society of Chemistry’s awards and prizes are awarded in recognition of originality and impact of research, or for each winner’s contribution to the chemical sciences industry or education. They also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, as well as the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

Of those to have won a Royal Society of Chemistry Award, 50 have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including 2016 Nobel laureates Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.

Posted on Wednesday 8th May 2019

  Search news archive