Skip to content

Members of the Centre for Law, Justice and Society

Professor Julia J.A. Shaw (CLJS Director) Professor of Law and Social Justice

T: +44 (0)116 257 7826
E: jshaw@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise:  interdisciplinary legal studies, human rights, public policy, sustainable development, law and the humanities


Dr Ohio Omiunu (CLJS Deputy Director) Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 257 7166

E: Ohio.Omiunu@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise:  international economic law, foreign relations law, comparative constitutional law, comparative federal studies


Dr Conrad Nyamutata (CLJS Head of Research Students) Lecturer

T: + 44 (0)116 366 4355

E: conrad.nyamutata@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: international child law, children’s rights, child soldiering and law of armed conflict, international human rights law, international criminal law


Jeremy Robson (CLJS Convenor - Working Paper Series) Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 366 4349

E: jeremy.robson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: criminal procedure and evidence, criminal law, courtroom practice, advocacy


Dr Oludara Akanmidu, Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8984

E: oludara.akanmidu@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise:  corporate law, corporate accountability, directors’ duties, enforcement, corporate governance


Dr Rajnaara C. Akhtar, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 205 6112

E: rajnaara.akhtar@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise:  family law, marriage formalities, unregistered marriages, gender and family law, international child law


Dr Simisola Akintoye, Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 116 257 7790

E: simi.akintoye@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: corporate governance, company law, corporate social responsibility, data protection, IT law


Professor Dennis Baker, Professor in Criminal Law

T: +44 (0)116 257 7348

E: dennis.baker@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: criminal law and justice, Asian law, Asian socio-legal studies


Professor Vanessa Bettinson, Professor of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice

T: + 44 (0)116 207 8195

E: vbettinson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: criminal law, sexual offences, domestic violence and coercive control


Dr Melanie Crofts, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 366 4351

E: melanie.crofts@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: equality, diversity and discrimination - particularly in a higher education context, sexual and domestic violence


Professor Gavin Dingwall, Professor of Criminal Justice Policy

T: +44 (0)116 257 7175

E: gdingwall@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise:  sentencing policy and theory, penal policy and theory, aspects of substantive criminal law - particularly relating to defences and absence of mens rea


Helen Murray-Edwards, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8161

E: helen.murray-edwards@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: criminal law, evidence, criminal trials


Dr Laura-Stella Enonchong, Senior Lecturer 

T: +44 (0)116 207 8620

E: laura.enonchong@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise:  comparative constitutional law and governance, international and comparative human rights, African human rights system


Tim Hillier, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 257 7184

E: thillier@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: criminal law and justice, sentencing, punishment and prisons


Dr Rachael Ita, Senior Lecturer

T: +44(0)116 366 4563

E: Rachael.ita@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: international law, international human rights law, interpretation of treaties


Dr Zoi Krokida, Lecturer

T: +44(0)116 257 7211

E: zoi.krokida@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: e-commerce Law, ISP liability, online defamation, online copyright and trademark infringements


Dr Sarina Landefeld, Lecturer

E: sarina.landefeld@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: international humanitarian law, protection of civilians, international law-making, international relations, international law


Karen Lawson, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 2506501

E: karen.lawson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: employment law and rights, employment status, employment law enforcement


Professor Ronnie Mackay, Professor of Criminal Policy and Mental Health

T: + 44 (0)116 257 7189

E: rdm@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise:  mental condition defences, criminal responsibility


Martin Morgan-Taylor, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 2577177

E: mart@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: light pollution, built environment law and policy, international environmental law


Dr Zainab Naqvi, Senior Lecturer

T: + 44(0)116 250 4558

E: zainab.naqvi@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: family law, minority women and the law, religion and law, critical feminism and decolonisation, social and gender justice


Dr Tobore Okah-Avae, Lecturer

E: tobore.okah-avae@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: corporate governance, corporate welfarism, international economic law and justice


 Dr Laura Pajón, Lecturer

T: +441162506122

E: laura.pajon@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: criminal investigation, human trafficking, modern slavery, multi-agency collaborations, organised crime


Neil Parpworth, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 257 8186

E: njp@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: police powers, public order, pollution offences


Dr Nicole A. Pierce, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 206 7112

E: nicole.pierce@dmu.ac.uk

 Areas of expertise:  commercial law reform, commonwealth studies, regional integration, regulation of financial systems, SIDS


Professor Dave Walsh, Professor in Criminal Investigation

T: +44 (0)116 207 8047

E: dave.walsh@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: criminal investigation - particularly the investigative interviewing of victims, witnesses and suspects, modern slavery, human trafficking


Dr Kate Wilkinson Cross, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8950

E: kate.wilkinson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: ecofeminism, feminist legal theory, biodiversity, technology, sustainable development, climate change


Doctoral students

Zein Abdul Nassir Mukhtar

Amina Abdullahi

John Agbaimoni

Yazan Al Maaiteh

Moataz Alyanbawi

Sharon Ball (CURA)

Simon Britten

Tim Everett

Helen Franklin

Jessica Gallagher

Satarupa Ghosh

Martina Locorotondo (CURA)

Juliana Nnadi

Gerald Opiah

Sara Parr

Yana Sliusar

Thomas Smith

Emerald Woodward