The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for defining and upholding the overall character and mission of the university and the effective and efficient use of its resources.

There are 15 members of the board, appointed in accordance with the Instrument of Government. The board comprises eminent external individuals of national standing, members of university staff, a student representative and the Vice-Chancellor,who is also an ex-officio member of the board.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors has a specific role in leading the Board and ensuring that it operates effectively.

The Board of Governors appoints a clerk to act as secretary to the board. The Clerk to the Board of Governors has a key role to play in the operation and conduct of the board.

Any queries relating to the Board of Governors should be directed to

Ian Blatchford Ian Blatchford (Chairman)
Dominic Shellard Dominic Shellard (ex-officio)
Sally Bowie Sally Bowie
Simon Capper Simon Capper
Alan Charlton Alan Charlton
Simon Cole Simon Cole
Jill Ezard Jill Ezard
Mollie Footitt Mollie Footitt (student rep.)
Lin Hinnigam Lin Hinnigan
Paul McNicoll Paul McNicoll
Oliver Mishcon Oliver Mishcon
Vijay Patel Vijay Patel
Dr Hilary Cass Tony Payne
Tony Stockdale Tony Stockdale
Sonia Watson Sonia Watson

Joining the Board of Governors

If you are not an employee of the university and are interested in becoming an independent governor at the university, please contact the Clerk to the Board to learn more about what opportunities currently exist for recruitment to the board.

News target area image

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Events target area image

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.