Mary Seacole Research Centre members

MSRC primary members

Professor Raghu Raghavan, Professor of Mental Health

T: +44 (0)116 201 3831
E: rraghavan@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Mental health, resilience, migration, ethnicity, health inequalities, participatory action research


Dr Nadia Svirydzenka, VC2020 Senior Lecturer in Psychology

T: +44 (0)116 250 6483
E:nadzeya.svirydzenka@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Child and adolescent mental health, identity and health, research methodology, culture and ethnicity


Professor Brian Brown, Professor of Health Communication

T: +44 (0)116 207 8755
E: brown@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Health communication, mental health, health humanities, social policy


 

Dr Karisha George, Lecturer in Health and Wellbeing

T: +44 (0)116 250 6757
E: Karisha.george@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Resilience, mental health, religiosity, narrative approaches


Dr Alice Simon, Senior Lecturer in Psychology

T: +44(0)116 257 6150

E: Alice.simon@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Mental health and wellbeing, Developmental disability, Psychological assessment, Social inclusion


Dr Joann Griffith, Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0)116 207 8649

E: jgriffith@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Mental Health, Identity and ethnicity, multicultural counselling, self-image


Dr Amanda Wilson, Lecturer in psychology

T: +44 (0)116 207 8815
E: Amanda.wilson@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Discourse Analysis, Community Research and Action, Reproductive Health and Wellbeing, Dual Diagnosis


Kathleen Nthakomwa-Cassidy, Senior Lecturer in Health Studies

T: +44 (0)116  207 8740

E: kathellen.nthakomwa-cassidy@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Mental health and wellbeing, young people, mental health First Aid


Dr Stephen Handsley, Associate Professor

T: +44 (0)116 25767883
E: shandsley@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Role performance in health and social care, Social & cultural identity, care and compassion


Dr Jonathan Coope, Research Fellow

E: jcoope@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Mental health and wellbeing, resilience, Eco psychology


Dr Zoe Palfreyman, Senior Lecturer in Psychology

T: +44(0)116 257 7760
E: zpalfreyman@dmu.ac.uk


Paul Illingworth, Head of School Allied Health Sciences

T: +44(0)116 2578284
E: Paul.illingworth@dmu.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: Mental health, nursing, mental health policy

Honorary research fellows

Dr Nandini Chakraborti, Consultant Psychiatrist
Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust, Leicester

Dr Satheesh Kumar Gangadharan Consultant Psychiatrist
Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust, Leicester

Mr Andy Barrett, Director
Excavate theatre, Nottingham

Dr Mo Abbas, Consultant Psychiatrist
Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust, Leicester

Dr Fabida Noushad, Consultant Psychiatrist
Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust, Leicester

Associate members

Dr Indrani Lahiri, Senior Lecturer in media and communications

T: +44 (0)116 257 7859
E: ilahiri@dmu.ac.uk 

Dr Lyndsey Bakewell, Lecturer in Drama

T: +44 (0)116 255 6125
E: Lyndsey.bakewell@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Meredith Wilkinson, Senior Lecturer in Psychology

T: +44 (0)116 250 6488
E: mwilkinson@dmu.ac.uk  

Dr Mark Crossley, Senior Lecturer in drama and performing arts

T: +44 (0)116 207 8131
E: mcrossley@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Scott Yates, Reader

T: +44 (0)116 207 8703
E: syates@dmu.ac.uk

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.