Principles of Care of the Acutely ill Adult in the critical care environment (Spire)

This module is specifically for adult nurses and Allied Health Professionals (AHP’s)  working within a level 2/3 facility caring for critical care patients.  The module will enable the learner to work towards completion of steps 2 & 3 competencies of the National Competency Framework for Adult Critical Care Nurses.  Utilising a problem-solving approach this module will build upon the students existing knowledge and experience gained during their completion of step 1 competency of the National Competency Framework for Adult Critical Care Nurses.  The content will incorporate the core curriculum of the framework allowing the learner to demonstrate knowledge of relevant anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology using a systems-based approach including the respiratory, cardiovascular, renal, gastrointestinal, neurological and integumentary systems.  Use of a systematic approach to patient assessment and national initiatives such as NEWS2 and Sepsis 6 will  assist the learner in recognising health abnormalities and enable them to competently assess, plan, implement and evaluate appropriate care underpinned by contemporary research and evidence.  Learners will also have underpinning knowledge of investigations, interpretation and application of results and of current and emerging treatment modalities.

Campus

De Montfort University

Entry Criteria

  • Effective registration with the NMC / HPC or other relevant professional body. ESSENTIAL
  • Undertaken successful level 4/5 academic study. ESSENTIAL
  • Currently be employed in practice and have the support of their manager in undertaking the module. ESSENTIAL

How to apply

Online Application Forms and Guidance Information

Key information

Module Category: PCPH
Module Code: 3312
Module Credits: 30
Module Level: 6

Module leader

Hajnalka Hideg

E: hajnalka.hideg@dmu.ac.uk
T: (0116) 366 4273

Semesters

Semester 2

  • Thursday 30th January
  • Friday 31st January
  • Thursday 27th February
  • Friday 28th February
  • Thursday 19th March
  • Friday 20th March
  • Friday 3rd April

Semester X

  • Thursday 4th June
  • Friday 5th June
  • Thursday 25th June
  • Friday 26th June
  • Thursday 16th July
  • Friday 17th July
  • Friday 7th August

 

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

News target area image
News

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.