Dorothy Byrne, Head of Channel Four News and Current Affairs and Professor of Media Discourse (Journalism) 

Dorothy Byrne, Visiting Professor in Media Discourse (Journalism), is Head of News and Current Affairs at Channel Four Television. Her programmes have won many International accolades, including Emmy, BAFTA, Royal Television Society awards. She was previously the editor of Dispatches at Channel Four and The Big Story at ITV after several years as a producer/director at World In Action. She was created a Fellow of The Royal Television Society for her “outstanding contribution to television”. She is a winner of the Women in Film and Television Factual Award and in 2015 was given a Scottish BAFTA for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting. She was instrumental in the composition of the MA in Investigative Journalism within the Leicester Media School.

Stuart Price, Professor of Media and Political Discourse, and Director of the Media Discourse Centre  

Stuart’s most recent research concerns the Catalan independence crisis. He is the co-editor, with Dr Ruth Sanz Sabido, of the books ‘Contemporary Protest and the Legacy of Dissent’ (2015) and ‘Sites of Protest’ (2016). He is also co-editor of a special issue of Critical Discourse Studies (2016) and of the Catalan Journal of Communication (2016). In addition, he is the author of a number of textbooks and monographs, including ‘Worst-case Scenario?’ (2011) ‘Brute Reality’ (2010), ‘Discourse Power Address’ (2007), ‘Media Studies’ (1998), and ‘Communication Studies’ (1996). He runs two undergraduate modules: Global Dissent and Media Discourse: Events and supervises a dozen PhD students. Recent projects include an edited book entitled ‘Investigative Journalism: global perspectives’, and a monograph called ‘Corbyn and the Media’ (both 2019). 

David Deacon, Professor of Communication and Media Analysis, Loughborough University, and Visiting Professor in Media Discourse 

As Professor of Communication and Media Analysis at Loughborough University, David has written widely on theoretical and methodological issues relating to Communication and Media studies.  He is the co-author of a leading international book on media and cultural research methods, which has recently been published in its second edition, and a work on British newspapers and the Spanish Civil War. David teaches on a wide range of courses, both undergraduate and postgraduate, at Loughborough University. 

Jason Lee, Professor of Culture and Creative Writing 

Jason is the author/editor of 15 books, with work translated into ten languages. His interdisciplinary work explores what are often considered to be taboo and contentious subjects, including child sexual abuse, addiction, nationalism, and ‘madness’. He is the founder and editor of the book series and journal Transgressive Culture. His work has appeared in numerous journals, including: Philosophy and Literature, The Cultural Industries Journal, Film International, Journal for Cultural and Religious Theory, Vertigo, International Journal of Baudrillard Studies and The London Magazine (the world’s oldest journal). His most recent work is ‘Nazism and Neo-Nazism in Film and Media’ (2018). 

Alexandra Halkias, Visiting Professor in Media Discourse and Gender Studies, and Professor in the Department of Sociology, Panteion University of Social and Political Science, Athens, Greece

Alexandra is the author of ‘Gendered Violences: Power, discourse, subjectivities’ (2011), and ‘The Empty Cradle of Democracy: sex, abortion and nationalism in modern Greece’ (2004). She is also the author of the articles ‘Democracy and Greece-in-crisis: contesting masculinities take center stage’ (2015), and ‘Alzheimer’s, national bankruptcy, and hegemonic masculinities in Greece’ (2012).   

Leonardo Custodio, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Tampere, Finland, and Senior Research Fellow in Media Discourse

Dr Leonardo Custodio is the author of a number of works on subjects including Communication for Social Change, Media Activism, and critical studies of political developments in Brazil. He is also a Founding Member of the Anti-Racism Media Activist Alliance, and the author of ‘ Favela Media Activism’ (2017). 

Staff Members (primary affiliation)

Mrs Gurvinder Aujla-Sidhu – Senior Lecturer in Journalism

Dr Jenifer Chao – VC2020 Lecturer, Journalism

Dr Marco Checci – VC2020 Lecturer in Business and Management

Mr Jeremy Clay – VC2020 Lecturer, Journalism

 Dr Richard Danbury – Associate Professor, Investigative Journalism

Mr Brian Dodds – Senior Lecturer, Journalism

Dr Max Hanska – VC2020 Lecturer, Journalism

Dr Ben Harbisher – VC2020 Lecturer, Media Production

Mr David Hayward – Senior Lecturer, Investigative Journalism

Dr Nayia Kamenou – VC2020 Lecturer in Social Work

Professor Jason Lee – LMS Partnerships, Media and Communication

Mr Jamie Lochhead – VC2020 Lecturer, Visual Effects

Professor Stuart Price –Chair of MDC, Media and Communication

Mr David Penman – Senior Lecturer, Journalism

PTHP staff (primary affiliation):

Fernanda Amaral - Journalism

Zoe Armour – Media and Communication (also PhD)

Ahmed Bahiya – Journalism (also PhD)

Dr Claire Sedgwick – Media and Communication and HLS (PhD recently obtained)

FT staff (secondary affiliation):

Professor Rusi Jaspal - Professor of Psychology and Sexual Health, and Associate Director of Research

Dr Gil Pasternak – ADH, Reader in Social and Political Photographic Cultures

Dr Ben Whitham – B&L, Lecturer in International Relations

Visiting Professors and Senior Research Fellows:

Professor Dorothy Byrne, Head of Channel Four News and Current Affairs

Professor David Deacon, Loughborough University

Professor Alexandra Halkias, University of Panteion, Athens

Dr Leonardo Custodio, University of Tampere, Finland


Technology Degree Show
Technology Degree Show

The Technology Degree Show highlights the work and achievements of our final year students.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.