The Institute employs a multi-disciplinary team of professors, lecturers and researchers - supported by higher degree students - who are respected internationally for the quality of their work. Their disciplines range from mathematics and physics, through engineering, to economics, sociology and psychology. This enables them to lead multi-disciplinary projects that address environmental, economic and social research problems.

Professor Subhes C Bhattacharyya
Director of the Institute of Energy and Sustainable Development
Professor of Energy Economics and Policy
+44 116 257 7957


Staff in the IESD

Professor Rick Greenough
Research Group Leader, Professor of Energy Systems

Dr Andrew Wright
Teaching Group Leader, Reader in Building Engineering Physics

Dr Arash Beizaee
Lecturer in Energy & Built Environment (VC2020)

Dr Peter Boait
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Neil Brown
Senior Lecturer

Dr Richard Bull
Reader in Energy and Behaviour Change

Dr Paul Cropper
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Gill Fisher
Research Assistant

Professor Paul Fleming
Professor of Energy Management

Dr Rupert Gammon
Senior Research Fellow

Professor Adel Hatamimarbini
Professor of Business and Management

Professor Mark Lemon
Professor of Integrated Environmental Systems

Dr Muyiwa Oyinlola
Lecturer (VC2020) Thermofluids and Energy

Dr Leticia Ozawa-Meida
Research Fellow

Dr Birgit Painter
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Vijayanarasimha Pakka
Lecturer in Engineering & Sustainable Development (VC2020)

Dr Andrew Reeves
Research Fellow

Dr Richard Snape
Research Fellow

Dr Graeme Stuart
Research Fellow

Visiting Research Fellows

Jose Avila-Nino

Dr Eckart Würzner 

Events target area image

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.