Research group members:

Professor Parvez Haris
Professor of Biomedical Science and Head of Research for the School of Allied Health Sciences

Dr Avninder S Bhambra
Senior Lecturer and Deputy Programme Leader for Biomedical Science BSc (Hons)

Dr Graham Basten
Head of Division, Medical and Healthcare Sciences

Dr Louise Dunford
Lecturer in Anatomy & Physiology

Dr Mark Evans
Lecturer in Biomedical/Medical Science

Dr Laurice Fretwell
Senior Lecturer

Dr Ruta Furmonaviciene
Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Sciences/Immunology

Professor Katherine Huddersman
Professor of Environmental Chemistry

Marilena Ioannou 
Senior Lecturer/Programme Leader, Biomedical Science

Professor Richard Jenkins
Faculty Head of Research

Bart Kay 
Lecturer in Clinical Physiology (Cardiovascular and Respiratory)

Dr Katie Laird
Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Microbiology

Dr Mhairi Morris 
Lecturer in Biomedical Sciences 

Dr Simon Oldroyd
Deputy Dean/Head of Allied Health Sciences

Dr Michael Randles
Early Career Academic Fellow

Dr Zoe Redshaw
Lecturer in Anatomy and Physiology

Dr Jo Rushworth 
Lecturer in Biomedical Science and Biochemistry

Dr Shivanthi Samarasinghe 
Senior Lecturer in microbiology and molecular genetics/genomics

Dr Harprit Singh
Senior Lecturer in Medical Science 

Dr Umakhanth Venkatraman Girija

Dr Susannah Walsh
Senior Lecturer in Microbiology

Dr Lan Zhu
Lecturer in Biomedical and Medical Science


Events target area image

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.