People Organisations and Work Institute (POWI)

POWI is a research centre at Leicester Castle Business School, De Montfort University. It comprises academics working mainly in the fields of sociology of work, employment relations and human resource management. The vibrant research culture is supported by a strong cohort of doctoral students in the department.

The centre seeks to contribute to debates on the nature of contemporary work and employment as well as management and leadership within organisations, and explore their complex links with performance (broadly defined).  Members are also interested in collective worker organisation.

Our members deliver research of recognised international quality, which is critical and theoretically informed, and which strives to push forward the boundaries of current thinking. In doing so, the centre’s aim is to produce innovative research of relevance to business leaders, managers, workers, trade unions and policy makers, and which contributes to economic benefit and social value.

The centre’s research activities span seven thematic areas:

  1. HRM, Skills and Performance
  2. International and Comparative Research
  3. Equality, Diversity and Identity
  4. Leadership, Culture and Organizations
  5. Rethinking routinized service work
  6. Employee voice and managing change
  7. Work and Development in the Global South

POWI staff

Director: Professor Jonathan Payne
E: jpayne@dmu.ac.uk

Deputy Director: Dr Peter Butler         
E: pabutler@dmu.ac.uk

Researchers

Dr Alexandra Chytiri                              
E: alexandra.chytiri@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Joseph Eyong
E: joseph.eyong@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Anita Hammer                                 
E: Ahammer@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Never Muskwe                                
E: never.muskwe@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Henry Mumbi                                  
E: henry.mumbi@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Nceku Nyathi                                    
E: nceku.nyathi@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Lisa Sezer                                         
E: lisa.sezer@dmu.ac.uk

Doctoral students in POWI

Ayman Adham, ‘The political economy of work in Saudi Arabia’. Successful – viva – straight pass July 2018

Johannes Brill, Strategic renewal of business models
E: P13065136@my365.dmu.ac.uk

Marco Gottero, Resistance to austerity in Athens and Buenos Aires
E: P15196091@my365.dmu.ac.uk

John Kimberley, Edward Cadbury and his Contribution to Management Thought, 1899-1919
E: john.kimberley@bcu.ac.uk

Louise Oldridge, Care(e)rs: An examination of the care and career experiences of mid-life women who combine formal employment and informal caring of dependent adults
E: P07234187@my365.dmu.ac.uk

Gareth Preece, Workforce planning in new FDI and the impact of government
E: P14029084@my365.dmu.ac.uk

Rene Sehi, Strategic business models
E: P12049140@my365.dmu.ac.uk

Suttimon Srichot, The impact of Corporate Social Responsibility in Human Resource Management departments in Multinational Companies
E: P10333102@my365.dmu.ac.uk

Mara Stanculescu, Migrant Transitions and Careers - Romanian migrants in the UK
E: mara.stanculescu@yahoo.com

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.

Text Only