Music, Technology and Innovation members


James Andean
Electroacoustic composition and performance; acousmatic music;
sound art; sound diffusion; improvisation; interdisciplinary
performance; sonic narrative

Simon Atkinson Dr Simon Atkinson
Composition; contemporary music; electroacoustic music;
musical signification
Peter Batchelor Dr Peter Batchelor
Composition; sound in space; installation practice;
public art
Bret Battey Prof Bret Battey
Composition; image and sound integration; algorithmic tech-
niques; expressive synthesis; Indian classical music; gesture

Dr Mike Blow
Sound art; multisensory relationships; interactive and
event-driven sound installations; diy instruments and
improvisational performance; synthesis


Dr Kevin Dahan
Computer music & computational approaches to music; 
electroacoustic music studies; music theory & analysis; 
composition & sound creation; music and the brain; 
jazz analysis & arrangement

Simon Emmerson

Prof Simon Emmerson
Electroacoustic and live electronic music: composition, theory
and analysis; interaction of world traditions;
influence of technology on music

Leigh Landy

Prof Leigh Landy, Director
Composition (especially cross-arts); electroacoustic music
studies; devising practices; dramaturgy; access to and
facilitating the making of contemporary music

amin-80x100 Dr Sven-Amin Lembke
Perception and cognition of electroacoustic music;
timbre analysis; timbral coordination in musical
John Richards Dr John Richards
Composition; new modes of performance and interactive
environments; improvisation; outreach
Craig Vear Prof Craig Vear
Composition; intermedia and mixed reality music;
interactive performance environments; music &
Artificial Intelligence; digital musicianship
John Young Prof John Young
Composition (electroacoustic and instrumental);
environmental sounds and sound recognition;
aesthetics of digital sound transformation

Associate Staff

Sophy Smith Dr Sophy Smith  (Institute of Creative Technologies)
Composition; cross-art collaboration with dance; turntablist teams
Robert Weale Dr Robert Weale (Enhanced Learning through Technology)
Electroacoustic music studies; composition; the listening
experience; dramaturgy; access; widening participation;

Postdoctoral Fellows

couprie-80x100 Dr Pierre Couprie
Composition and improvisation; electroacoustic music studies;
pedagogy; software and multimedia development.

 Associated Researchers

Marc Battier Prof Marc Battier (Université Sorbonne/Paris IV)
Composition; electroacoustic music (history, organology,
relation with other art forms, sound technology in literature);
East Asian elec. music; Japanese studies
Kerry Francksen Kerry Francksen-Kelly (Independent Scholar)
Dance and Digital Media
Andrew Hugill Prof Andrew Hugill  (University of Leicester)

 Technical Staff


Petros Galanakis
Music production, mastering engineering, 
live performance. 

susanne grunewald Susanne Grunewald
Electroacoustic Music and Sound Design for Film

Past Honorary Scholars

Richard Orton Richard Orton, Honorary Research Fellow †
Composition, instrumental and electroacoustic; software
supporting composition; algorithmic processes
Howard Skempton Prof Howard Skempton, Honorary Professor
Composer, accordionist, experimentalist

Past Visiting Professors

Robert Normandeau Prof Robert Normandeau
Electroacoustic composition     
Barry Truax Prof Barry Truax
Electroacoustic composer and acoustic communications researcher

Past Visiting Researchers

celik-80x100 Dr Serdar Çelik (Cumhuriyet University, 
Music Technology Department) 

MIDI software development; microtonality; sound design. 


Events target area image

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.