Institute of Art and Design members

Dr Elizabeth Lambourn
Deputy Director, Institute of Art and Design
Design Cultures, Reader in South Asian and Indian Ocean Studies
ELambourn@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Indian Ocean; material culture; cultural history; medieval

Dr Kelley Wilder 
Director, Institute of Art and Design
Director, Photographic History Research Centre
kwilder@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: photographic history; history of science; art and science; history of technology

Design

Imogen Aust
Senior Lecturer in Design Crafts
iaust@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: fine art; design;

Dr Emily Baines
Senior Lecturer in Design
EBaines@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Cultural history; design history

Prof. Guy Bingham
Professor of Design
guy.bingham@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: 3D printing/Additive Manufacturing, Product Design, Computer Aided Design

Dr Robert Chen
Associate Professor in Design
rchen1@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Angela Davies
Senior Lecturer in textiles
AmDavies@dmu.ac.uk

Lionel Dean
Reader in Digital Arts
LDean@dmu.ac.uk

Serena Dyer
Early Academic Career Fellow
serena.dyer@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: material culture; dress history; eighteenth-century history; women’s history; retail and consumption history

Rosemarie Fitton
Senior Lecturer in Interior Design
rfitton@dmu.ac.uk

Rajesh Gogna
Senior Lecturer in Design Crafts
rajesh.gogna@dmu.ac.uk

Rebecca Graaff
Senior Lecturer, Interior Design
RGraaff@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Carolyn Hardaker
Interim Head of School of Design
chh@dmu.ac.uk

Dr David Heap
Associate Professor in Contextual Studies
david.heap@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Horton
Senior Lecturer in Design
jhorton01@dmu.ac.uk

Grahame Hudson
Associate Professor of Design
ghudson@dmu.ac.uk

Ruth Jindal
Senior Lecturer in Contextual Studies
rjindal@dmu.a.cuk

Dr Elizabeth Lambourn
Deputy Director, Institute of Art and Design
Design Cultures, Reader in South Asian and Indian Ocean Studies
ELambourn@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Indian Ocean; material culture; cultural history; medieval

Stuart Lawson
Associate Professor of Design
smlawson@dmu.ac.uk

Yeseung Lee
VC2020 Lecturer in Design Cultures
yeseung.lee@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: design cultures

Dr Claire Lerpiniere
Senior Lecturer in Textile Design
CLerpiniere@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Textile design; sustainability

Gillian Proctor
Associate Professor Contour Design
gproctor@dmu.ac.uk

Nick Rowan
Senior Lecturer in Product Design
nick.rowan@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Jinsong Shen
Professor of Textile Chemistry and Biotechnology
jshen@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Kyungeun Sung
VC2020 Lecturer in Product Design
kyungeun.sung@dmu.ac.uk

Fine art/photography

Jo Booth
Associate Professor of Photography and Video
joanne.booth@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Carina Brand
Senior Lecturer Fine Art
carina.brand@dmu.ac.uk

Rob Brannan
Head of the School of Fine Arts and Performing Arts
RBrannen@dmu.ac.uk

Louise Clarke
Senior Lecturer Fine Art
Lclarke@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Ernest Edmonds
Professor of Computational Arts
eedmonds@dmu.ac.uk

Anna Lucas
Senior Lecturer, Lens Based Media
alucas@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: film; fine art

Gillian McFarland
Artist in Residence
gillian.mcfarland@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Fabrizio Poltronieri
VC2020 Lecturer
fabrizio.poltronieri@dmu.ac.uk

Edward Rennie
Senior Lecturer in Painting
ERennie@dmu.ac.uk

Prof. Lala Meredith-Vula
Professor of Art and Photography
lala@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Christine White
Deputy Dean, Faculty of Arts, Design and Humanities
christine.white@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: art and science; performance

Photographic History Research Centre

Professor Emeritus Stephen Brown
Photographic History Research Centre
sbrown@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Emeritus Elizabeth Edwards, FBA
Photographic History Research Centre
eedwards@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Gil Pasternak
Reader in Social and Political Photographic Cultures
gpasternak@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: photographic history; social and political photographic cultures; family photography; photography and conflic

Dr Beatriz Pichel
VC2020 Lecturer in Photographic History
beatriz.pichel@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: medical photography; history of medicine; history of emotions; photographic history

Dr Kelley Wilder 
Director, Institute of Art and Design
Director, Photographic History Research Centre
kwilder@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: photographic history; history of science; art and science; history of technology

PhD students

Design

Elham Kamal M Abu Nab
Keywords: Textile Manufacturing, Clothing Industry, Saudi Arabia, Consumer Needs

Randa Meshal B Alsabhi
Keywords: Textiles, 3D Print, Design

Randah Mohammed Ashour
Keywords: Art and Design, Islamic Arabesque, Interior Design, Saudi Arabia

Clare Victoria Bowyer
Keywords: Costume History, Folk Festivals, Morris Dancing, Carnival

Hui-Ling Chen
Keywords: Lifelong Learning, Adult Learners, Widening Participation, Arts Education

Taher El Danaf
Keywords: Design

Yixuan Guo
Keywords: Contemporary Design, Fashion, China, Product Development

Alis Diana Iacob
Keywords: Creative Design, Design Practice, Creativity Assessment, Product Design

Ola Khayat
Keywords: Interior Design, Contemporary Arabia, Heritage, Tourist Hotels

Nuntamon Kutalad
Keywords: Exhibition Design, Museum Brand Design, Audience Engagement, Thailand

Guoli Li
Keywords: Design, Orthotics, Hallux Valgus

An Liu
Keywords: Design

Yidan Men

Rachel Neal
Design

Nalinee Netithammakorn
Keywords: Textile Technology, Design, Sustainable Coloration, Pattern Design

Basma Abdulellah A Sabbahi
Keywords: Digital Fashion Design, Fashion Shows, Saudi Arabia, Sustainability

Ai-Hwa Tai
Keywords: Appraisal of Jewelry, Jadeite Jewelry, Product Design

Lisa Jane Thurlow
Keywords: Design, Drawing, Sketch, Design Performance

Kuei-Feng Wang
Keywords: Architecture, Innovation, Sustainability, Environment

Jennifer Margaret Wilkinson
Keywords: Digital Design, Interaction Design, Visitor Engagement, Cultural Heritage

Photographic History Research Centre

Marta Binazzi
Photographic History, Copyright Law, Art Photography, Visual Culture

Catherine Cooke
Photographic History, Amateur Photography, Social Media, Collodion Photography

Michelle Hammers
Keywords: Photographic History, UNRWA, Palestine, Archives

Erika Lederman
Keywords: Photographic History, Victoria & Albert Museum, Women Photographers, Institutional Photography

Sabrina Meneghini
Keywords: Photographic History, Colonial Office, Visual Education, Alfred Hugh Fisher

Valentine Nyamndon
Keywords: Photographic History, Studio Photography, Cameroon, Visual Culture

Ella Ravilious
Keywords: Photographic History, Victoria & Albert Museum, Archive History, Museum Practice

Anke Schurer-Ries
Keywords: Photographic History, Missionary History

Rebecca Smith
Keywords: Photographic History, The Daily Herald, National Science and Media Museum, Archive History

Catherine Troiano
Keywords: Photographic History, Hungarian Photography, Visual Culture, Exhibitions History

Fine art

Sarah Andrew
Keywords: Visual Arts

Linda Cunningham
Keywords: Visual Arts

Stefania Laccu
Keywords: Fine Arts, Art and Medicine, Somatic Disorders, Painting

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.