Institute of Art and Design members

Dr Kelley Wilder 
Director, Institute of Art and Design
Director, Photographic History Research Centre
kwilder@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: photographic history; history of science; art and science; history of technology

Dr Elizabeth Lambourn
Deputy Director, Institute of Art and Design
Design Cultures, Reader in South Asian and Indian Ocean Studies
ELambourn@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Indian Ocean; material culture; cultural history; medieval

Emeritus professors

Professor Emeritus Elizabeth Edwards, FBA
Photographic History Research Centre
eedwards@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Emeritus Stephen Brown
Photographic History Research Centre
sbrown@dmu.ac.uk

Design

Prof. Guy Bingham
Professor of Design
guy.bingham@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: 3D printing/Additive Manufacturing, Product Design, Computer Aided Design

Dr Elizabeth Lambourn
Deputy Director, Institute of Art and Design
Design Cultures, Reader in South Asian and Indian Ocean Studies
ELambourn@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Indian Ocean; material culture; cultural history; medieval

Dr Angela Davies
Senior Lecturer in textiles
AmDavies@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Claire Lerpiniere
Senior Lecturer in Textile Design
CLerpiniere@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Textile design; sustainability

Dr Emily Baines
Senior Lecturer in Design
EBaines@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: Cultural history; design history

Lionel Dean
Reader in Digital Arts
LDean@dmu.ac.uk

Rajesh Gogna
Senior Lecturer in Design Crafts
rajesh.gogna@dmu.ac.uk

Rosemarie Fitton
Senior Lecturer in Interior Design
rfitton@dmu.ac.uk

Yeseung Lee
VC2020 Lecturer in Design Cultures
yeseung.lee@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: design cultures

Rebecca Graaff
Senior Lecturer, Interior Design
RGraaff@dmu.ac.uk

Imogen Aust
Senior Lecturer in Design Crafts
iaust@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: fine art; design;

Jenny Gilbert
VC2020 Lecturer in Design Cultures
jenny.gilbert@dmu.ac.uk

Joanne Horton
Senior Lecturer in Design
jhorton01@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Jinsong Shen
Professor of Textile Chemistry and Biotechnology
jshen@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Kyungeun Sung
VC2020 Lecturer in Product Design
kyungeun.sung@dmu.ac.uk

Fine art/photography

Prof. Lala Meredith-Vula
Professor of Art and Photography
lala@dmu.ac.uk

Professor Christine White
Deputy Dean, Faculty of Arts, Design and Humanities
christine.white@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: art and science; performance;

Jo Booth
Associate Professor of Photography and Video
joanne.booth@dmu.ac.uk

Anna Lucas
Senior Lecturer, Lens Based Media
alucas@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: film; fine art

Edward Rennie
Senior Lecturer in Painting
ERennie@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Carina Brand
Senior Lecturer Fine Art
carina.brand@dmu.ac.uk

Photographic History Research Centre

Dr Kelley Wilder 
Director, Institute of Art and Design
Director, Photographic History Research Centre
kwilder@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: photographic history; history of science; art and science; history of technology

Dr Beatriz Pichel
VC2020 Lecturer in Photographic History
beatriz.pichel@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: medical photography; history of medicine; history of emotions; photographic history

Dr Gil Pasternak
Reader in Social and Political Photographic Cultures
gpasternak@dmu.ac.uk
Keywords: photographic history; social and political photographic cultures; family photography; photography and conflict

 IOCT

Professor Ernest Edmonds
Professor of Computational Arts
eedmonds@dmu.ac.uk

Dr Fabrizio Poltronieri
VC2020 Lecturer
fabrizio.poltronieri@dmu.ac.uk

Affiliated Members

Dr Robert Chen
Associate Professor in Design
rchen1@dmu.ac.uk

Louise Clarke
Senior Lecturer Fine Art
Lclarke@dmu.ac.uk

Nick Rowan
Senior Lecturer in Product Design
nick.rowan@dmu.ac.uk

Ruth Jindal
Senior Lecturer in Contextual Studies
rjindal@dmu.a.cuk

Dr David Heap
Associate Professor in Contextual Studies
david.heap@dmu.ac.uk

Rob Brannan
Head of School of Arts
RBrannen@dmu.ac.uk

Gillian Proctor
Associate Professor Contour Design
gproctor@dmu.ac.uk

Gillian McFarland
Artist in Residence
gillian.mcfarland@dmu.ac.uk;

Professor Carolyn Hardaker
Interim Head of School of Design
chh@dmu.ac.uk

Stuart Lawson
Associate Professor of Design
smlawson@dmu.ac.uk

Grahame Hudson
Associate Professor of Design
ghudson@dmu.ac.uk

PhD students

Design

Kuei-Feng Wang
Keywords: Architecture, Innovation, Sustainability, Environment

Taher El Danaf
Keywords: Design

An Liu
Keywords: Design

Rachel Neal
Design

Clare Victoria Bowyer
Keywords: Costume History, Folk Festivals, Morris Dancing, Carnival

Lisa Jane Thurlow
Keywords: Design, Drawing, Sketch, Design Performance

Randah Mohammed Ashour
Keywords: Art and Design, Islamic Arabesque, Interior Design, Saudi Arabia

Hui-Ling Chen
Keywords: Lifelong Learning, Adult Learners, Widening Participation, Arts Education

Yixuan Guo
Keywords: Contemporary Design, Fashion, China, Product Development

Alis Diana Iacob
Keywords: Creative Design, Design Practice, Creativity Assessment, Product Design

 

Ola Khayat
Keywords: Interior Design, Contemporary Arabia, Heritage, Tourist Hotels

Nuntamon Kutalad
Keywords: Exhibition Design, Museum Brand Design, Audience Engagement, Thailand

Guoli Li
Keywords: Design, Orthotics, Hallux Valgus,

Yidan Men

Ai-Hwa Tai
Keywords: Appraisal of Jewelry, Jadeite Jewelry, Product Design

Jennifer Margaret Wilkinson
Keywords: Digital Design, Interaction Design, Visitor Engagement, Cultural Heritage

Elham Kamal M Abu Nab
Keywords: Textile Manufacturing, Clothing Industry, Saudi Arabia, Consumer Needs

Randa Meshal B Alsabhi
Keywords: Textiles, 3D Print, Design

Nalinee Netithammakorn
Keywords: Textile Technology, Design, Sustainable Coloration, Pattern Design

Basma Abdulellah A Sabbahi
Keywords: Digital Fashion Design, Fashion Shows, Saudi Arabia, Sustainability

Photographic History Research Centre

Catherine Troiano
Keywords: Photographic History, Hungarian Photography, Visual Culture, Exhibitions History

Marta Binazzi
Photographic History, Copyright Law, Art Photography, Visual Culture

Catherine Cooke
Photographic History, Amateur Photography, Social Media, Collodion Photography

Michelle Hammers
Keywords: Photographic History, UNRWA, Palestine, Archives

Erika Lederman
Keywords: Photographic History, Victoria & Albert Museum, Women Photographers, Institutional Photography

Sabrina Meneghini
Keywords: Photographic History, Colonial Office, Visual Education, Alfred Hugh Fisher

Valentine Nyamndon
Keywords: Photographic History, Studio Photography, Cameroon, Visual Culture

Ella Ravilious
Keywords: Photographic History, Victoria & Albert Museum, Archive History, Museum Practice

Anke Schurer-Ries
Keywords: Photographic History, Missionary History

Rebecca Smith
Keywords: Photographic History, The Daily Herald, National Science and Media Museum, Archive History

Fine art

Sarah Andrew
Keywords: Visual Arts

Linda Cunningham
Keywords: Visual Arts

Stefania Laccu
Keywords: Fine Arts, Art and Medicine, Somatic Disorders, Painting

 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.