Skip to content

Centre for Reproduction Research team and how to contact us

 

  1. Professor Nicky Hudson, Centre Director and Professor of Medical Sociology

    Professor Nicky Hudson, Centre Director and Professor of Medical Sociology

    T: +44 (0)116 207 8766

    E: nhudson@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: (in)fertility, assisted reproduction, gamete donation, sociology of medicine

  2. Dr Cathy Herbrand, Deputy Centre Director and Reader in Sociology

    Dr Cathy Herbrand, Deputy Centre Director and Reader in Sociology

    T: +44 (0)116 250 6422

    E: cathy.herbrand@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: reproductive technologies, mitochondrial donation, LGBT kinship, new genetics

  3. Professor Lorraine Culley, Emeritus Professor

    Professor Lorraine Culley, Emeritus Professor

    T: +44 (0)116 257 7735

    E: lac@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: diversity in health care, (in)fertility, reproductive technologies, endometriosis

  4. Abena Addo, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery

    Abena Addo, Senior Lecturer Midwifery

    T: +44 (0)116 257 7817

    E:  aaddo@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: midwifery, pregnancy, HIV

  5. Dr Kylie Baldwin, Senior Lecturer

    Dr Kylie Baldwin, Senior Lecturer

    T: +44 (0)116 257 7735 

    E:  kbaldwin@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: (in)fertility, reproductive ageing, social egg freezing

  6. Dr Rowena Doughty, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery

    Dr Rowena Doughty, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery

    T: +44 (0)116 207 8757 

    E:  rdoughty@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: midwifery-led care, antenatal care, obesity

  7. Zaheera Essat, Lecturer in Midwifery

    Zaheera Essat, Lecturer in Midwifery

    T: +44 (0)116 250 6565

    E: zaheera.essat@dmu.ac.uk

  8. Dr Kriss Fearon, Research Fellow

    Dr Kriss Fearon, Research Fellow

    E:  kriss.fearon@dmu.ac.uk

  9. Bernadette Gregory, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery

    Bernadette Gregory, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery

    T: +44 (0)116 257 7847

    E:  bgregory@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: parents with disabilities, equality, diversity, social policy

  10. Dr Esmee Hanna, Associate Professor/Reader in Health and Wellbeing in Society

    Dr Esmee Hanna, Associate Professor/Reader in Health and Wellbeing in Society

    T: 0116 257 7119

    E:  esmee.hanna@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: male infertility, men’s reproductive experiences, health and gender

  11. Dr Tina Harris, Associate Professor/Senior Clinical Lead in Midwifery

    Dr Tina Harris, Associate Professor/Senior clinical lead in Midwifery for the national maternity and perinatal audit

    T: +44 (0)116 257 7804 

    E:  tiharris@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: midwifery practice, practice variation and clinical decision making in clinical caredecision making in clinical care, maternal and perinatal audit ethnicity 

  12. Dr Zara Hooley, Senior Lecturer for CLaSS

    Dr Zara Hooley, Senior Lecturer for CLaSS

    E: zara.hooley@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: same-sex parenting, family sociology, qualitative research

  13. Caroline Law, Senior Research Fellow/Part-time PhD student

    Caroline Law, Research Fellow/part-time PhD student

    T: +44 (0)116 250 6124

    E:  claw@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: assisted reproduction, reproductive timing, endometriosis, men’s reproductive decisions

  14. Dr Ying Liu, Lecturer in Psychology

    Dr Ying Liu, Lecturer in Psychology

    T: +44 (0)116 366 4679

    E: ying.liu@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: The experience of sibling abortion under China's One-Child Policy, writing as inquiry, autoethnography and narrative incoherence.

  15. Dr Sasha Loyal, Lecturer in Health and Wellbeing in Society/Research Fellow

    Dr Sasha Loyal, Lecturer in Health and Wellbeing in Society/Research Fellow

    T: +44 (0)116 201 3896 

    E: sasha.loyal@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: reproductive timing, fertility trends, ethnicity and religion

  16. Dr Diane Menage, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery

    Dr Diane Menage, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery

    E: diane.menage@dmu.ac.uk

  17. Jessica Turner, Research Assistant

    Jessica Turner, Research Assistant

    T: +44 (0)116 207 8306

    E:  jessica.turner@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: women’s health, reproduction, qualitative research methods

  18. Dr Christina Weis, Research Fellow

    Dr Christina Weis, Research Fellow

    T: +44 (0)116 250 6576

    E: christina.weis@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: surrogacy, feminist ethnography, reproductive health, gamete donation

  19. Dr Amanda Wilson, Lecturer in Psychology

    Dr Amanda Wilson, Lecturer in Psychology

    T: 0116 2078 815

    E: amanda.wilson@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: men and family planning, marginalisation, health

 

PhD researchers

 

  1. Caroline Law, Research Fellow/part-time PhD student

    Caroline Law, Research Fellow/part-time PhD student

    Areas of expertise: assisted reproduction, reproductive timing, endometriosis, men’s reproductive decisions

  2. Sumaira Rashid, PhD research student

    Sumaira Rashid, PhD research student

    Areas of expertise: Medical anthropology (infertility, menopause, population control and body politics), gender studies, South Asia, women's health and reproduction

  3. Sitira Williams, PhD research student

    Sitira Williams, PhD research student

    Areas of expertise: Transgender studies, intersectionality, quantitative and qualitative research methods. 

  4. Andrew Coutts, PhD research student

    Andrew Coutts, PhD research student

  5. Kelly Da Silva, PhD research student

    Kelly Da Silva, PhD research student

  6. Kate Pleace, PhD research student

    Kate Pleace, PhD research student

    Areas of expertise: Fertility, menopause, women's health. 

 

 

Associate members

  1. Dr Catherine Coveney, Lecturer in Sociology in the Social and Policy Studies Unit, Loughborough University

    Dr Catherine Coveney, Lecturer in Sociology in the Social and Policy Studies Unit, Loughborough University

    E: C.M.Coveney@lboro.ac.uk

  2. Dr Nolwenn Bülhler, Maître-Assistante en Etudes Genre, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland

    Dr Nolwenn Bühler, Maître-Assistante en Etudes Genre, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland

    E:  nolwenn.buhler@unine.ch

  3. Dr Douglas Gray, Research Governance Manager

    Dr Douglas Gray, Research Governance Manager

    T: +44 (0)116 257 7658

    E:  douglas.gray@dmu.ac.uk

    Areas of expertise: reproductive technologies, reproductive toxicology, ethics, policy and regulation

  4. Dr Manjiri Khare, University Hospitals Leicester, Leicester

    Dr Manjiri Khare, University Hospitals Leicester, Leicester

    E: manjiri.khare@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

  5. Dr Wendy Norton, Associate Professor/Reader in Health and Social Care

    Dr Wendy Norton, Associate Professor/Reader in Health and Social Care

    Areas of expertise: assisted reproduction, surrogacy, sexuality, sexual health