The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for defining and upholding the overall character and mission of the university and the effective and efficient use of its resources.

There are 16 members of the board appointed in accordance with the Instrument and Articles of Government. The board comprises eminent external individuals of national standing, members of university staff, a student representative and the Interim Vice-Chancellor, who is an ex-officio member of the board.

The Clerk to the Board of Governors, who is appointed by the board, acts as its secretary, providing advice and support. The clerk therefore has a key role to play in the operation and conduct of the board.

Any queries relating to the Board of Governors should be directed to

Independent governors

Dianne Buchanan Dianne Buchanan
Phil Clarke Phil Clarke
Simon Cole Simon Cole
Fiona Cownie Fiona Cownie
Jill Ezard Jill Ezard
Lin Hinnigam Lin Hinnigan
Sara Pierson Sara Pierson
Jasvinder Sanghera Jasvinder Sanghera
Ian Squires Ian Squires (Chair of the Board)
Peter Tansley Peter Tansley
Daniel Toner Daniel Toner


Andy Collop Andy Collop (ex-officio)

Staff and student governors

Jon Lees Jon Lees (Elected professional services)
Paul McNicoll Paul McNicoll (academic board nom staff rep.)
Diya Rattanpal Diya Rattanpal
Richard Snape Richard Snape (Elected academic)



Joining the Board of Governors

If you are not an employee of the university and are interested in becoming an independent governor at the university, please contact the Clerk to the Board to learn more about what opportunities currently exist for recruitment to the board.

News target area image

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Events at DMU

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.