Skip to content

Jason Jones

Job: Senior Research Fellow

Faculty: Technology

School/department: School of Engineering and Sustainable Development

Research group(s): Advanced Manufacturing Processes and Mechatronics Centre (AMPMC)

Address: De Montfort University, The Gateway, Leicester, LE1 9BH, United Kingdom

T: +44 (0)116 257 7763




Personal profile

Jason has undertaken research in the field of Additive Manufacturing (AM) since 2005 and was appointed as a Senior Research Fellow in 2007.  Jason is an investigator leading collaborative research projects to develop new layer based manufacturing processes leveraging digital printing & direct writing technology.  He is also serves as a task group chair for ASTM (F2921) developing international standards for AM.

For five years prior to his research appointment, he worked in the CNC & 3D printing industry as Technical Manager for Unimatic Engineers Ltd. in London, England.

Research group affiliations

Advanced Manufacturing Processes and Mechatronics Centre (AMPMC)

Key research outputs

JONES, J. B. served as task group chair to develop the standard below:

ASTM 2011. F2921 – Standard Terminology for Additive Manufacturing—Coordinate Systems and Test Methodologies. West Conshohocken, PA, USA: ASTM International.

Research interests/expertise

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • 3D printing
  • Remanufacturing
  • Digital printing
  • Digital fabrication/digital manufacturing
  • Dissimilar multi-material parts

Areas of teaching

I teach the following topics on the Rapid Product Development MSc

  • Additive Manufacturing (3D Printing)
  • High Speed Machining
  • Reverse Engineering

Membership of professional associations and societies

All current:

  • Additive Manufacturing Association, member since 2007
  • F2921 Task Group Chair (since 2010), ASTM International Standards Committee F42, member since 2009
  • Society of Imaging Science, member since 2010
  • Additive Manufacturing Net, since 2010
  • Advisor, SME Rapid Technologies and Additive Manufacturing Steering Committee, since 2012.