DMU logo

Vacation placements

The majority of hospitals in East Midlands offer structured work experience opportunities for 3rd year Pharmacy MPharm students during the summer months.

However, you do not need to have hospital experience to apply for a pre-registration place in hospital - just make sure you show the transferable skills that you have gained from other work or volunteer experience during the application process.  

East Midlands summer placements and open days’ summary for 2017

NB: 3rd year students only to apply. Do not apply before the date specified or your application may not be considered.

TrustPlacement
dates
Applications / Deadlines Interview
dates
Contact

Chesterfield Royal Hospital
(4 places)

4 weeks paid

From now

Deadline
31 January

Interviews in mid-February

Debora Gamble
D.gamble1@nhs.net
Martin Shepherd
Martin.shepherd2@nhs.net

Derby Teaching Hospitals
(8 places)

1 week unpaid in June 2017

Deadline

21 December

2016

Appointment by application form only. 

Laura Chapman
laura.chapman21@nhs.net

Kettering General Hospital
(3 places)

10 weeks, paid at Band 2

advertised on NHS jobs in February

Interviews in March

Gwenda Smith
PA to Chief Pharmacist
gwenda.smith@nhs.net

Sherwood Forest Hospitals
(6 places)

One week, unpaid

Deadline

28 February 2017

NA–currently offered on application +/- phone call.

Bryony Stevens
Bryony.stevens@sfh-tr.nhs.uk  
Sandy Harris
Sandra.harris@sfh-tr.nhs.uk

United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS trust

(Number of places TBA)

     

Kate McMillan
Katherine.Mcmillan@ULH.nhs.uk

Northampton General Hospital
(3 places)

     

Shelley Patel
Shelley.Patel@NGH.NHS.UK

Nottingham University Hospitals (NUH)

(4 places

on each campus: QMC and City)

6 Weeks
(12 June-21 July 2017)
Placements are paid at Band 2 AFC

Applications should be submitted electronically by 9am on Wednesday 1 February 

Spring 2017 - will be informed of date if shortlisted

Mike Hey michael.hey@nuh.nhs.uk

01159249924 Ext 64425

University Hospitals of Leicester

NB: vacation placements cannot be offered due to training workload. Three open days will be available during June and July 2017.

 
 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

News target area image
News

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.