DMU logo

Vacation placements

The majority of hospitals in East Midlands offer structured work experience opportunities for 3rd year Pharmacy MPharm students during the summer months.

However, you do not need to have hospital experience to apply for a pre-registration place in hospital - just make sure you show the transferable skills that you have gained from other work or volunteer experience during the application process.  

East Midlands summer placements and open days’ summary for 2018 NB: 3rd year students only to apply. Do not apply before the date specified or your application may not be considered. 

TrustPlacement datesApplications / Deadlines Interview datesContact

Chesterfield Royal Hospital 
(4 places)

2 weeks unpaid

From now Deadline  Friday 15th December 2017

Interviews in January

Debora Gamble  D.gamble1@nhs.net 

Derby Teaching Hospitals  (12 places)

3 days unpaid in June 2018

Deadline
31 December 2017

Appointment by application form only.  

Sophia Feret  sophia.feret@nhs.net

Kettering General Hospital  (3 places)

10 weeks, paid at Band 2

advertised on NHS jobs in February

Interviews in March

Nirali Sisodia Nirali.Sisodia@kgh.nhs.uk 

Sherwood Forest Hospitals  (6 places)

One week, unpaid

Deadline
28 February 2018

NA–currently offered on application +/- phone call.

Tahir Khalifa  tahir.khalifa@nhs.net Sandy Harris  Sandra.harris@sfh-tr.nhs.uk

United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS trust (Number of places TBA)

 1 week unpaid in June - July 2018

Deadline
2 March 2018

 Appointment by application form only

Kate McMillan  Katherine.Mcmillan@ULH.nhs.uk Applications available from https://www.ulh.nhs.uk/jobs/work-experience/

Northampton General Hospital  (3 places)

 8 weeks (part paid at Band 2) From June-October

 Apply via NHS Jobs from February

 March/April

Shelley Patel  Shelley.Patel@NGH.NHS.UK

Nottingham University Hospitals (NUH) (2 places on each campus: QMC and City)

6 Weeks  (11th June-20th July 2018)  Placements are paid at Band 2 AFC

Applications should be submitted electronically by 9am on Thursday 1st February 2018

March 2018 - will be informed of date if shortlisted

Mike Hey michael.hey@nuh.nhs.uk

University Hospitals of Leicester

UHL will not be offering summer placements but will run open afternoons on the following dates (2-4pm) 6th June 2018 12th June 2018 3rd July 2018

Rachel Love  
rachel.love@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

 
 
Events target area image
Events

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

News target area image
News

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.