DMU logo

Prof Don Gotterbarn to present in ACM Learning Webinar

Computing Professionalism: Do Good and Avoid Evil... and Why It Is Complicated to Do that in Computing


Thursday, January 23, 2014 at 1 pm ET/noon CT/11 am MT/10 am PT/6 pm GMT

Most computing professionals want to avoid evil and to do the right thing. But that isn't always easy. Sometimes doing the right thing exacts a difficult price from the individual professional. Other times, it is difficult to know exactly what the right thing is.

In this presentation, we will try to help with both problems. Difficulties with these two problems contribute to failed systems, derailed projects, and significant negative impacts on society. We will introduce ways to migrate these risks based on current research in computing, ethics, and psychology.

We will put this into a larger perspective by discussing the international efforts to professionalize computing. These efforts are a mixed blessing, but they point to the importance of professional ethics in computing.

Duration: 60 minutes

For more information and registration, please click on the link.

 

Posted on Tuesday 14th January 2014

Search news archive

DMU open days
 
Technology Degree Show
Technology Degree Show

The Technology Degree Show highlights the work and achievements of our final year students.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.