The Centre for Adaptations brings together academics in Film Studies, Media Studies, Imaging and Communication Design, Drama and English.


Deborah Cartmell,
Professor of English and Director of the Centre for Adaptations

Roger Apfelbaum,
Senior Lecturer in Drama

Damir Arsenijević 

Steve Chibnall,
Professor of British Cinema and Director of the Cinema and Television

Philip Cox,
Head of the School of Humanities

Ian Hunter, 
Professor of Film

Siobhan Keenan, 
Reader in English

Claire Monk,
Reader in Film and Film Culture

Kenneth Morrison,
Reader in Modern Southeast European History

Andy Mousley,
Professor of Critical Theory and Renaissance Literature

Deborah Mutch,
Senior Lecturer in English

Tim O’Sullivan,
Professor of Media and Cultural History

Elinor Parsons,
Lecturer in Drama

Laraine Porter,
Senior Lecturer in Film

Sue Porter,
Part-time Lecturer

Stuart Price, 
Professor of Media

James Russell,
Programme leader for Film Studies

Hila Shachar,
Lecturer in English Literature

Dominic Shellard, Twitter: @DMUVC 
Vice Chancellor

John Young,
Professor of Composition   

Deborah Cartmell

Professor Deborah Cartmell is Centre Director

Visiting and honorary staff

Andrew Davies
Visiting Professor

Jozefina Komporaly
Honorary Fellow

Lindsey Scott
Honorary Fellow

Inci Bilgin Tekin
Boğaziçi University

Thomas Van Parys
University of Leuven

Eckart Voigts

Imelda Whelehan
Visiting Professor

Events target area image

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DMU research news target area image
DMU research news

Read about our latest research efforts.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.