DMU logo

Who are we?

De Montfort University Leicester (DMU) understands the benefit of sport, the way it brings people together, instils principles of teamwork and inspires a winning attitude. DMUsport works to offer that experience to as many students as possible, enhancing student experience, promoting a fit and healthy lifestyle and showcasing DMU as an ambitious sports institution.

Sport at DMU is on the rise and there are endless opportunities on offer for students to play competitively or simply just to get involved. Whether it be through the nationwide competitive sports programme; British University and College Sports (BUCS), sport specific competition, intra-mural leagues or through the DMUactive recreational sports programme.

DMUsport contacts

Fiona Dick, Head of Sport
Email: fiona.dick@dmu.ac.uk

Responsibilities: Manage the DMUsport staff team. Oversee the development of sport for DMU students. Oversee the performance of DMUsport teams in BUCS and Varsity.

 

Katy Young, Sports Development Manager
Email: katy.young@dmu.ac.uk

Responsibilities: Responsible for DMUsport club activity and club development. The management of club coaches and the Sport Development Assistants.

 

David de-Beger, Sports Performance Manager
Email: david.de-beger@dmu.ac.uk

Responsibilities: The BUCS programme, Varsity, the VC Scholarship programme including scholars lifestyle and performance development. The management of club coaches, S&C coaches, Performance Sport Coordinator & the rowing program.

 

Sally-Anne Adams, Performance Sport Coordinator
Email: sally-anne.adams@dmu.ac.uk

Responsibilities: Providing operational support to teams and individuals competing in BUCS leagues and events; booking transport, facilities and coordinating officials. Maintaining up to date knowledge of all BUCS rules and regulations as the first point of contact for all queries from DMU teams and other Universities around our fixtures.

 

Anna Aldersley, Sports Development Assistant
Email: anna.aldersley@dmu.ac.uk 

Responsibilities: BUCS Events Sport Clubs and DMUsport marketing.

 

Emilie Fairnington, Sports Development Assistant
Email: emilie.fairnington@dmu.ac.uk 

Responsibilities: Non BUCS Sport Clubs, DMUactive recreational programme and FA Grassroots Hub project. 

 

Henryk Smolinski, Sports Development Assistant
Email: henryk.smolinski@dmu.ac.uk

Responsibilities: BUCS League Sport Clubs and VC Sport Scholarship program.

 

Russ Bakewell
Email: russ.bakewell@dmu.ac.uk

Sam Kibble
Enail: skibble@dmu.ac.uk

Nikesh Savjani
Email: nickesh.savjani@dmu.ac.uk

Strength and Conditioning Coaches

Responsibilities: Working to improve the overall strength and fitness of DMUsport teams. Working individually with DMU Sports Scholars to improve specific areas for their sport. Helping to improve competitive sport across the university.

 

Social media

Facebook: facebook.com/DMUsports 

Twitter: twitter.com/DMUsports 

Instagram: dmusports

Snapchat: dmusports

DMU sports logo

 Basketball - main

 Coverage

 

Swimming -main

Badminton - main

Swimming 2 main

 

 

 

 

 

 
Events
Events Calendar

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

DSU logo
De Montfort Students' Union

DSU is here to support you, find out how.

MyDMU
MyDMU

MyDMU is where you can find all your personal DMU information.