DMU logo

Annual Lectures

What Will Survive of Us? Lecture and Award Winners 2015

The 2015 annual CPEP lecture and LOROS/CRN awards presentation took place on Thursday 12th November. Students, Grace Broughton and Helen Keating were presented with awards by Tim Baggs, on behalf of the Royal College of Nursing, for their achievements in the ‘promotion of excellence in palliative care’. This year’s annual CPEP lecture was delivered by Sarah Tarlow, Professor of Archaeology at the University of Leicester, and looked at What will survive us? What archaeology and anthropology can teach us about how people prepare for what happens after their death. To see photos of the event, click here

Hospices And Universities Working Together: Does It Raise The Game? Lecture 2014

Professor Irene Higginson OBE, Director of The Cicely Saunders Institute at Kings College London, inspired all who attended the annual LOROS-DMU Centre for the Promotion of Excellence in Palliative Care (CPEP) lecture. 

Professor Higginson began her lecture within an overview of the work and achievements of Dame Cicely Saunders, the person credited with initiating the modern-day hospice movement.

Dame Cicely’s vision was to improve the care of patients and families affected by advanced illness by positioning research and education as the foundation of clinical practice.  Professor Higginson detailed how the institute, which bears Dame Cicely’s name, has helped to operationalise this vision.

Amongst the examples she provided was how the care of dying patients in intensive care had been enhanced by the endeavours of clinicians and researchers working collaboratively. She also discussed findings, hot off the press, of a study undertaken by the Institute published in the Lancet Respiratory Journal that reveals how early, holistic management of breathlessness in advanced disease improves patients' lives and in so doing, increases patient survival. 

Award Winners 2014

The LOROS-CPEP award winner for postgraduate student excellence in palliative care is Elaine Wright.  Elaine has demonstrated a consistently high standard of work on the Masters Programme and used her learning from the programme to make a difference to the care of young people with cancer.  

The winner of the RCN-CPEP pre-registration nursing award is Holly Smith. Holly demonstrated how she was able to make a difference to the care of a patient on an acute hospital ward through application of principles of holistic palliative care.   

The applications for the awards were of a very high standard and we congratulate the very worthy winners.

News target area image

DMU is a dynamic university, read about what we have been up to in our latest news section.

Events target area image

At DMU there is always something to do or see, check out our events for yourself.

Mission and vision target area image
Mission and vision

Read about our mission and vision and how these create a supportive and exciting learning environment.